Posted by: hugapoohlouise | June 18, 2011

Happy Father’s Day!

Father’s Day is this Sunday.  I wanted to wish all those dad’s out there a very special day.  I hope you have a blessed day with your family.

I saw a sign on a church on my way to work this morning. “A Father’s Influence lasts a lifetime.”  This really got me thinking.

My dad has played a large part in my whole life.  When I was little I worshipped the ground he walked on.  I loved the winter’s when he was laid off and I could spend as much time as possible with him.  He use to take me out to eat breakfast and take me to school.  I played that childhood game about how my dad could beat up your dad and how tall my dad was.  Funny how when you are little you think you dad is as tall as the Empire State building.

When I got older, my relationship with my dad changed.  I sought his approval at the beginning and when I realized that this was not going to come as easily as I hoped, I changed tactics and sought his disapproval which was much easier.  This in turn led to rebellion.  My family is not a very vocal family when it comes to expressing sentiments.  They don’t say “I love you”.  They show you by purchasing you things.  This is how it has been as far back as I can remember.  I thought this was normal, until I had to face the real world.  Talk about a shock.

I think the first serious relationship I had with a male in my life was a thorn in my dad’s side just as I planned.  I chose the opposite of him.  Which I am sure did not please him, as he didn’t understand it.

But I have to agree with the church’s sign.  My dad’s influence has lasted a lifetime.  Now that my mom is gone, I have a different relationship with my dad.  She was always the buffer.  She always interceded for me and made amends.  Now we don’t have that and we both had to learn to relate to one another.  I guess you could say we’ve come to an understanding.  Our roles are changing as he gets older and I assume more of the roles that he needs done.  Making sure the bills are paid and reminding him to take his medicine and visit the doctors.

I know some people are jealous of the relationship I have with my dad, as they don’t have the same relationship with their dad.  I cherish my dad and to me he is the greatest man whoever lived after Jesus of course.  I don’t know what I’d do without him and I don’t like to think about it.

I am so glad my girls got to know their Poppa.

So, Dad, Happy Father’s Day and many more.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 578 other followers

