Posted by: hugapoohlouise | January 28, 2012

Devotional Bible Study Method – Psalms 3

I began my study this week in Psalms 3.  If you are following along with me you know I finished Psalms 1 and 2.  I am spending a week in each of the Psalms.  I can’t tell you how I’ve enjoyed this.  I just love the devotional Bible study method.  The nuggets I am gleaning from God’s Word are so rich and fresh and refreshing.

Psalm 3

A psalm of David, when he fled from his son Absalom.

1 LORD, I have so many enemies!
So many are standing against me.
2 So many are talking about me:
“Even God won’t help him.”
Selah
[a]
3 But you, LORD, are my shield!
You are my glory!
You are the one who restores me.
4 I cry out loud to the LORD,
and he answers me from his holy mountain.
Selah

5 I lie down, sleep, and wake up
because the LORD helps me.
6 I won’t be afraid of thousands of people
surrounding me on all sides.

7 Stand up, LORD!
Save me, my God!
In fact, hit all my enemies on the jaw;
shatter the teeth of the wicked!
8 Rescue comes from the LORD!
May your blessing be on your people!
Selah

We all have many enemies.  Physical enemies, Spiritual enemies, mental enemies.  Satan and his slaves are attempting to lead us away from God.  They will resort to all most anything.  There are the unsaved ones who are blinded by Satan to Jesus’ truth.  We have radio, TV, media in general to eat up our time and rot our brains with half-truths.

Some days it feels totally overwhelming to me.  The constant noise, the phone, the radio, gossip, traffic, etc.  It is as if I am being oppressed.  Especially when a family member or close friend betrays you or hurts you.  Just what you need is one more enemy.  Right?

Your enemies stand against you.  They talk about you.  Sometimes it even feels like God won’t help.  You feel so alone.  But that isn’t true.

The Lord is my shield.  He protects me from the fiery darts of the devil and all others who hate and persecute me.  All I have to do is cry out to the Lord and He will answer.

In Psalms 3 we are given a command to cry out to the Lord.  This shows our dependence on Him.  Then we are given a promise.  He will answer when I cry out.  Not when my mom or my dad do it for me.  Not when my husband or pastor cries out for me.  When I cry out.

We sleep and we wake again because of the Lord’s help.  Even though you feel surrounded on all sides by multitudes.  You don’t have to be afraid.  Just cry out!

Stand up Lord!  Save me My God.  Rescue comes from the Lord.  Remember that because there are many things in the world saying they will rescue you and save you.  BUT there is only one true rescue and that comes from the Lord.

In my pondering of this Psalm, one thing that I find truly interesting is that David is saying “in fact hit all my enemies on the jaw; shatter the teeth of the wicked.”  David shared with the Lord what he really wanted to happen to his enemies.  David wanted retaliation.  David wanted his enemies to suffer like he did.

Do you ever feel this way?  Is it right as a Christian?

I think we should use David as an example.  He was crying out to the Lord for help.  He was overwhelmed.  God rescues.  So in David’s prayer to the Lord David was truthful.  David wanted his enemies to be punished as he had been punished.  So instead of taking matters into his own hands, David prayed it to God.  He gave it to God.

What would the world be like today if we did more of this?  Instead of retaliation.  The Lord says in Romans 12:19 “Don’t try to get revenge for yourselves, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath.  It is written, revenge belongs to me; I will repay it back, says the Lord.”

Vengeance is the Lords.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 584 other followers

