Posted by: hugapoohlouise | April 9, 2012

Hands-On Bible Review

Celia LeVasseur of Children’s Ministry Resources for Group graciously sent me a copy of Hands-On Bible® to review.  I received no compensation for this review just one complementary soft cover copy.

The Hands-On Bible® is published by Group and Tyndale.  The Hands-On Bible® is in the New Living Translation or NLT.

From the Group website: “Jesus taught with hands-on lessons and illustrations. The Hands-On Bible® uses the same experience-based learning to communicate God’s Word in an active, understandable way.  This new edition features updated tip-ins, a more portable size for kids, an attractive cover, and free online access to MyHandsOnBible.com for family devotions, a Bible reading plan, scripture songs, and a parent’s forum.  With hundreds of fun, memorable activities (A “Do-It” activity in EVERY feature!) and the full New Living Translation text, the Hands-On Bible® is packed with activities and experiences that invite kids to crawl inside the Scriptures and “do” God’s Word!

I believe that the Word of God is alive and I want my children to experience God’s Word from a living stand point.  So I was very excited when I read the outside of the Bible cover that said “Your kids won’t just read the Bible, they’ll experience it.”  I was amazed that there is also a website included with the Bible called MyHandsOnBible.com where you can visit or your kids can to experience family devotions, music and so much more.  What disappointed me was when I tried to visit MyHandsOnBible.com I was taken to a site called 4 Every Buddy.  It does have coloring pages, videos, and games, but I could not find a mention of Hands-On Bible®

This was my first experience with the NLT translation.  The NLT is clear and easy for a child to understand.  Hands-On Bible® is great for boys or girls.  Usually children’s Bibles are geared to either boys or girls, but this Bible is formatted and designed in such a way that it is a great Bible for either.

This Bible includes a huge variety of activities, crafts, fun facts, science projects,  and many more great things that are sure to get your child to engage!  Even if you are unable to find the website mentioned in the Bible.  The Bible will stand alone.  There are memory verse activities one for each week for a whole year.  The Bible is in full color.

Overall I was pleasantly surprised at the wealth of information contained in the Hands-On Bible®.  My girls feel in love with it and were actually begging me to do more than one devotional study with them each day.  So it does engage children.  It also helped my girls learn about dictionaries, concordances, maps and charts to help them understand what they were reading and it actually helps the text come alive.

I don’t want to give too much else away, so you’ll just have to get your kids one.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 675 other followers

