Posted by: hugapoohlouise | April 22, 2012

Work, Love, Pray by Diane Paddison – Book Review

Zondervan graciously sent me a review copy of “Work, Love, Pray” by Diane Paddison.  In exchange for a review.  I received no compensation just a review copy of the above book.  Work, Love, Pray by Diane Paddison is published by Zondervan and is available in print copy or e-book format.

From the back cover: “Is It Possible to Have It All at Once?  Do you wonder if your dreams for a successful career and a thriving personal life could ever work together?  Do you love what you do – and feel exhausted at the end of the day?  Are you sometimes lonely in a faith community that doesn’t engage you on a professional level?  Diane Paddison knows how it feels to be committed to your faith and your loved ones as well as to your career – and to sometimes feel pulled in a dozen directions.”

I am a wife, mother and have a career.  So when I received this book as a review copy it sure caught my eye.  I have felt  exhausted at the end of the day.  But when my day at work ends, then my day begins again with my children.  Unlike the author, I have a part-time job outside the home.  I work from 9am-3pm, Monday through Friday.  My dh works 4pm-1pm Tuesday through Saturday.  This schedule allows us to avoid childcare for our children.  When our three little ones are not in school they are with a parent at all times.  We have been truly blessed to have a flexible schedule such as this.  Not everyone has this blessing.

I have struggled to find a godly influence in my life to help me juggle my career, my family, my home and my aging father.  Unfortunately, there aren’t many out there that are willing to share their struggles and insight to others.  Diane Paddison’s book is a great start.  In her own experiences as a career woman, wife and mother/stepmom she helps you make sense of your life.  Diane Paddison shares with you how to climb the ladder of success without sacrificing your personal life and your faith.  I loved the sound biblical and professional advice.

If you are unable to find a mentor in your life where you live, I would recommend this book to you.  Diane Paddison is a great mentor and she also has a website and blog.  If you are a mentor, I would also recommend her book to you.  To visit Diane Paddison’s website just click on her name anywhere in the post.

If you are looking for a mentor, please feel free to contact me, as I have found an awesome website for mothers.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 639 other followers

