Posted by: hugapoohlouise | May 24, 2012

Melissa’s Gleanings….

I recently joined a summer Bible study online.  We are using the Focused15 method for 1 Corinthians 13.  Our main focus the first week is our quiet time.  Since the beginning of the year I have been attempting with the Holy Spirits help to be faithful to at least 30 minutes a day in quiet time.  Which includes prayer, Bible reading, Bible Study and reading Biblical books for edification.  Thanks to the Lord and His strength it has been going great, I mean here we are in May.  For the first time on Thursday of last week, I wasn’t able to have my quiet time.  I had to take my dad to surgery.

My dad has always went to bed with the chickens and awoke with them too for as long as I can remember.  Well the day of his surgery he told me to call him at 6:00am to make sure he was awake.  Piece of cake or so I thought.  My dad did away with his land line in favor of cellular only service.  Which is great, but when you can’t hear your cell phone 90% of the time, this becomes a problem for an elder person living alone.  So I called at 6:00am.  No answer only voice mail.  I called again, and again, and again.  All the way up to 6:24am.  Then I realized that he was not awake and I had to go get him up.

To make a long drawn out story short, he wasn’t up and I didn’t get to spend my usual quiet time with the LORD.  I was disappointed, but I realized soon after I got my dad out of bed that I would have at least two hours while he was in surgery and who said you can’t have quiet time in a surgical pavilion?  So that is exactly what I did with my tablet, I read the Bible, studied the Bible, and spend some time in prayer.  I am sure I got some looks, but so did Jesus.

So if you are struggling with quiet time with the Lord, stop!  You too can have a quiet time, but you have to make time for it.  You make time to go to the movies, out to eat, to get your hair, nails done right?  Then make time right now for the Lord and guard it.  If you miss don’t condemn yourself, just dust yourself back off and begin again.  It is easy once you’ve scheduled it in, but until you slice  out time for it, it won’t magically happen.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 648 other followers

