Posted by: hugapoohlouise | June 3, 2012

As One Devil To Another by Richard Platt – Book Review Blog Tour and Giveaway!!!!

Who is your favorite author?  Which author do you prefer over all the others in the library?  Do you follow one and know exactly when their new book is to release?  C.S. Lewis’ ranks at the top of my list.  When I first came to know Jesus Christ as my personal Lord and Savior,  a wise lady who had walked with the Lord for many years told me to that I had to read three books as I began my journey.  Now to an avid book lover this was exciting for me.  I thought I had to stick to the Bible and read nothing else.  She said read “Pilgrims Progress” and “The Screwtape Letters” and most of all ready daily the Word of God.  Since this was new to me I took her advice and I read all three.  It changed my life.

So when Tyndale Blog Network had a book that was similar to C.S. Lewis’ “The Screwtape Letters”, written by Richard Platt “As One Devil To Another” I decided to give it a try.  C.S. Lewis’ shoes are big ones to fill in my opinion.    “As One Devil To Another” is a fine example of the genre of diabolical correspondence. 

So join me on a summary of “As One Devil To Another”:

Through a series of letters between devils created by the author, Platt, the senior devil Slashreap trains his protege, Scardagger to win individual souls away from Heaven.  (Sound familiar?  it is a battle we as Christians fight each day).  As the devils plot their way to winning, they reveal the spiritual dangers and risks we face in today’s society.  Their frighteningly accurate perspective on issues such as technology and intimate relations is interwoven with timeless matters such as the power of prayer, the purpose of suffering, and the promises held out by Heaven and….Hell.

This book reminds me so much of C.S. Lewis’ “The Screwtape Letters”   So if you love C.S. Lewis or even if you jut like reading his literature, why not join me to win a free copy of Richard Platt’s book “As One Devil To Another”.  The winner will receive a certificate for a free book from Tyndale Publicity.

To enter follow these instructions.  For one entry leave a comment attached to this blog post and tell me who your favorite author is and the name of your favorite book.

Second entry is to share my contest on your blog.  Please leave me a comment with the blog link so I can enter you.

Third entry is to share my blog review on your Facebook page, Tweet about it, don’t forget to send me the link so I can enter you.

Please don’t forget to leave your email address when you post comments or send link so if you win I can contact you.  In the past I’ve had three people win and I’ve had no way to contact them.  If you don’t respond to the winning email within five days, I will choose another winner.  When you are selected and confirmed I will send you the free certificate that you must send into Tyndale Publishing to receive your free copy in the mail.  Good Luck.

As part of the Tyndale Blog Network, I received a complementary copy of “As One Devil to Another” to read and review.  It is part of a blog tour by Tyndale Publicity.  I received no compensation for this review, other than a complementary review copy in exchange for my unbiased review.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 633 other followers

