Posted by: hugapoohlouise | August 18, 2012

I’m Hiding His Word In My Heart. Will You Join Me?

I have joined the 1 Peter 1 Bible Memory Challenge hosted by the Do Not Depart Blog.  Will you join me?  What is it you ask?  Let me share.

Ever since my mother died in 2006, I have struggled with fear, anxiety and worry.  When I had my first panic attack, I went to the doctor, because I thought I was having a heart attack.  I explained to my doctor what was happening and his decision was to take me off ALL caffeine.  Now, this was devastating to someone who drinks at least four pots of coffee a day, at least one coke or mountain dew.  If you ever had a panic attack then you know you’ll try just about anything.  So for six months of my life I went cold turkey.  Guess what?  The panic attacks did not lessen.

Now as a child of God, I didn’t realize that I had a choice in this matter.  That Jesus victory on the cross set me free from the chains that bound me.  So I believed the devils lie.  I accepted that I had no power in this area.

I returned to the doctor many times in that six month span.  The no caffeine did not work so they wanted to prescribe medicine for these panic attacks.  When I researched the medicine that they were offering me, I decided that this was not the route to go.  My dh works the 2nd shift and I am responsible for three little girls each and every day.  The medicine would not allow me to do this with a clear mind and heart.  I felt like hope had been yanked away from me.  Which I can tell you is worse than a panic attack.  When a dear friend suggested to me that I pray for wisdom.  Now, why didn’t I think of that?  Because I had allowed myself to be deceived in the worst way by my enemy that was seeking to destroy me.

So, I took time out each day to pray.  I laid on my face before the Lord and pleaded with every ounce of strength I had.  I prayed for wisdom.  I stood on the promises of God that said He didn’t give me a spirit of fear, but a sound mind, power!  As I began meditating on the promises contained in God’s Word, I began confessing these promises over my life each day.  Morning and night and guess what?  I began to commit these passages to memory.  Each time I was faced with fear, anxiety or panic I began to pray and confess the Truths that I found in the Bible.   So that is the reason I chose to become part of the 1 Peter 1 Bible Memory Challenge.

The Lord showed me first hand how memorizing and committing to memory His Word is like a sword that we can use to battle our enemy.  I still struggle with certain fears, when the winds blow and the weather radio tells me a storm is coming my way, but now the first thing I do is surrender to God and begin to confess His Word that I’ve memorized and have hidden in my heart.  I can tell you it is so much easier to face these giants in my life when I know the Lord is with me and will never forsake me.

I’d love to hear your story.   Why you would like to hide God’s Word in your heart.  What you are facing.  The lies you’ve believe.  Then I am going to ask you to join me in memorizing 1 Peter 1.

Until Next Time,

M

Responses

  1. hi, yes when you are on medicine or anything its really hard to be in spirit. I tried all that stuff and by the Grace of God i got delivered and I look to GOD as my medicine now. Thats Great that you overcame that. I think I will check that out thanks.
    Blessings
    Jessica

    • Jessica:
      Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post and to comment. Praise God.

  2. Wow, Melissa. I am so moved by your story! I struggle with fears and worries too, and have found that having verses stored in my heart and brain also help me. When I wake up in the middle of the night, I often recite chapters to myself–Psalm 103, Psalm 23, 1 Corinthians 13, …–that help me remember the Lord IS in control, and that he loves me and is working things out for his glory and my good.

    Thank you for sharing your testimony. And I’m so glad you’re part of our memory group. What a blessing.

    • Thank you for reading and commenting. I was so scared to do this blog post but the prompting of the Holy Spirit would not let me walk away without posting.
      M. Waters

  3. wow,what a godly response you had; I love it! Thanks so much for sharing.

    • Thank you for your kind words. Believe me, it wasn’t me, it was the Holy Spirit operating through me to have this awesome response.

  4. Praise God for His leading you to memorize scripture and your faithfulness to obey! I, too, struggle with anxiety and have found the Sword of the Spirit supernaturally effective. I am memorizing 1 Peter 1 as well. In the past year we have had several very serious and fear-inducing things happen in our family and I noticed the anxiety creeping back in. It was time to lay hold of a sharpened sword and add to my arsenal. :-) I am confident God will bless your faithfulness!

    • Patti: Thank you for the awesome comment. I am praising God with you for leading us both to His Word. I am so glad you are on the memorization journey with me.
      I too am confident that the Lord will bless your faithfulness. Have a blessed week.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 667 other followers

