Posted by: hugapoohlouise | September 25, 2009

The Blue Parakeet by Scot McKnight – Book Review

0310284880I was thrilled to receive this book in the mail from Zondervan.

As a Christian, I am always looking for method’s of Bible Study that work.  Needless, to say in the past I’ve tried many only too soon to realize that they were not for me.  They were more of a legalistic ritual used to check off my to do list.  I didn’t know anymore about God and His Word than before I started.

The Blue Parakeet by Scot McKnight is a breath of fresh air when it comes to Bible Study.  His method is for anyone from a beginner to a seasoned Bible scholar.  Scot’s writing style is easy to understand and very easy to implement without feeling as if you are following a set of instructions.

After reading The Blue Parakeet and practicing the method shared in the book, I have found God’s Word to be a fount of words that touch my heart and soul.  I actually for the first time in 10 years of reading God’s Word, hunger and thirst to search its pages.

I was amazed by the title, but you have to read the book to find out why Scot McKnight used the title The Blue Parakeet.  Which is part of the journey he takes you on each page.

The references and background are excellent researched.  They lead you on a search that hopefully will never end until we are with Jesus.  I love his writing style, I think I may read his other books.

So I can’t say enough about this book.  If you have struggled with the Bible and applying it to your life, this is just he book for you.

M

Responses

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean


Leave a Reply

Categories

