Posted by: hugapoohlouise | May 13, 2010

Happy Birthday – To me!

Yep!  My birthday is this weekend.  I am going to be 39.  Yesterday I shared this with one of my customers and he had the gall to ask me if it was the first time I was turning 39.  The nerve.  Yes, I am going to be 39 years old for the first time.  Then again, I liked my dad’s response, he thought I was 25 years old.  I said “Boy how time flies when you are having fun.”

I have a purse insert review that I am working on.  I’ve been using it in my purse for 30 days, and I have mixed feelings.  Guess you’ll have to read the review to find out.

Summer is finally here, it has been getting rather hot here in the South.  I am not complaining, except my relatives in the North said they had snow the other day.  I miss snow sometimes and I know my girls want to see it too.

We received good news about a family friend they were discharged from the hospital into special care and then it is homeward bound.  I know he is jumping for joy at that prospect.

Right now the girls are ready for school to be out.  But a week after summer vacation starts they will ask everyday when they can go back.  They seem to love school, they just wish they didn’t have to get up so early to go. LOL

I was able to visit my bible study class this week.  I’ve missed each and every one of those women dearly.  It was such a blessing you can feel the presence of God within this group and it is such a blessing to know they are praying for me.  I can use it.  Then I went out to lunch with them and we were able to enjoy like-minded fellowship.  I will miss them so much until I can see them again.

I was also asked just recently to proof read a book by the author.  I am honored.  I can’t wait.  I love a challenge and I love to proof read and copy-edit.

So.. all I want for my birthday is an ebook reader.  I love the Ipad, but it is soooo expensive.  I also like the Kindle as a second choice, but then again, I just can’t justify spending this much money on myself.  I’ve heard all the arguments that I deserve it, and I’m worth it.  So I am going to wait.  Usually when I want something really bad and think I just have to have it, I stop and wait for 2 weeks.  I write-up the pros and cons of buying the thing and then at the end of the 2 week waiting period I re-evaluate whether I still feel the same way about the item.  Is it still a want or a need.  I’ll keep you posted.  Right now, I am comparison shopping.  I found the Barnes & Noble Nook and this looks real affordable.  If you own one, please share with me.

Stay tuned for some exciting summer time reviews.

Until next time,

M

Responses

  1. Oh, I seriously can’t imagine someone asking if you are turning 39 for the first time. {gasp!}

    Happy Birthday!

    And good luck with writing the review; it’s always harder to write about something you aren’t absolutely in love with isn’t it?

    • Jenn:
      Thank you for the kind comments.

      Yes it is truly hard to write a review on something that just doesn’t click with you.

      Have a great week.
      M


Leave a Reply

Categories

