Posted by: hugapoohlouise | June 18, 2010

We are off to the rodeo!!!

Me and the girls are off to the rodeo this weekend.  They are so excited.  Mom, well, I don’t enjoy the heat unless it is beside the pool.  The horses, I couldn’t tell.

The Curryville Rodeo is this weekend in Trenton at the FFA Arena.  We will be taking one horse and one pony.  The best part is I get to drive the new truck.  Yep, I love to drive trucks.  Plus it has satellite radio and I love that too.  The rodeo is Friday and Saturday.  Both days they are calling for thunderstorms here, and I hope for the girl’s sake it holds off until they are done.

We’ve been polishing tack, washing and cleaning horses, practicing our barrels and our roping.  Practice makes perfect.  I guess you can say I have a lot of pride in my girls.  I use to do this every weekend, I was horse crazy once too.  I thank my family for allowing me the chance to experience the rodeo.  I think every child should have one animal that it is responsible for.  To raise, feed and make sure the animal thrives.  Now, I don’t mean buy a six month old a parrot.  Come on people use some common sense.  My girls learned early the benefits of living on a working farm.  We have horses, and cows.  We grow our own hay and garden for human benefit.  Hear that bunnies, leave my garden alone.  We of course have the normal pets, dogs, cats and all the strays that get left on the road.  It takes work and it is also fun.  Yes, we eat our cows.  We name them and feed them until it is time to stock the freezer.  Call it what you want, but I call it rare.

It is my job to get the truck and trailer ready for our little trip.  We won’t be spending the night like everyone else as we live too close.

So if you don’t hear from me this weekend, remember I am off to the rodeo.

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

