Posted by: hugapoohlouise | September 14, 2010

Rodeo time again!

I know it seems like it is too hot.  But we are off to a rodeo next weekend.  This is the farthest we’ve driven to go to a Rodeo.  It is about 100 miles one way.  The girls are excited.  We will be taking two horses and a pony on this trip.  Thank God for Poppa’s new truck.

The girls are so excited, not Gabby, but the others.  They can hardly wait.  This Rodeo we will be entering all the fun events and barrel racing.  Mom is even going to try out one event this time.  It has been a long time, maybe I’ll do the over-the-hill class. LOL

We are in the process of preparing all the gear and practicing each night until it is dark.  It is cooler to ride in the evening.  Plus we have homework, housework and real work to do.  My oldest said to me the other day, “Mom, I wish we could find a way to make Rodeo pay the bills.” Oh does she have it bad or what.  I don’t think I could handle the being on the road all the time.  I am sure the horses are glad we are not a traveling rodeo family.  My husband is really not into it.  He likes to watch it on TV, but as far as horses, he can leave them.  Not me and my girls.  Gabby I think is taking after her dad when it comes to horses.  She prefers dogs.  Maybe as she gets older she will develop a love for them.  Either way is fine with me.

This is our first Rodeo with the new horse.  I am very interested to see how Savannah and her new ride work out.  This horse is so trained it just amazes me.  Each time I see them go through their routine they get better and better.  I am sure there are some ribbons in this horses future.

We are taking the pony with us this time, so the other girls can enjoy some of the fun events that are not real competitions.  Like the egg ride, ring toss, etc.  This should be fun as ole Smokey is sure full of vinegar.  We shall see how well he cooperates.  Guess if I was his size, I would be grouchy too.

I will update you on our progress at the Rodeo when we get home.  I hope you all had a nice Labor Day weekend.  I didn’t want to go back to work.  But one day Rodeo will pay. LOL

Melissa

Leave a Reply

Categories

