Posted by: hugapoohlouise | October 22, 2010

Life decision

Have you ever had that moment in your life when you had to make an important decision and your flesh told you to go one way, but your heart told you to run?

In the past few months, I’ve been faced with a temptation.  I got saved after the birth of my first daughter, Savannah.  I had that Moment of Truth where I met Jesus and gave Him my life.  I’ve never looked back.  I’ve clung to Him with all I am and have.  I hope you’ve had that Moment of Truth.

Now, I am not saying that I lived in a glass house and didn’t face life.  I’ve had my share of tribulation, tests and trials.  I live in this world, but I am not of this world.  I lost my mother in a way that no one should.  I have estranged family members that are so malicious rattlesnakes run from them.  I’ve lost my mother in law in an awful way too.  I’ve faced pretty much the same thing you have.  Jesus has never left me, and I’ve never left him.

Well, a few months back I received an email from another time in my life, a time before I knew Jesus.  Before, I was saved, I was a sinner.  A horrible one, I did things that I am ashamed to admit.  But, the moment I accepted Christ as my personal Savior all that was forgiven, forgotten.  That is my past.  But just for a moment when I received that email, there was a part of me that said HUH?  Those past memories flooding back, all those so called good times flashed before my eyes.  My flesh rejoiced and my heart cried out to God for the right thing to do.  But just for that split second I was at a point where my whole life could of changed in a blink of an eye.

The decision I made was to walk away from the very appearance of evil.  To avoid any future contact and to not look back.  I couldn’t of done this if I didn’t have the mind of Christ and love the of Christ shed abroad in my heart.  It wasn’t Melissa that walked away, it was the strength of Christ turning me away.  I am so thankful.

I’ve seen what decision like this have done to others.  People that are better than me, smarter than me, holier than me.  It has ruined their lives, marriages, families.  But there by the grace of God go I.

I want to share the lyric’s to a song that has helped me to keep on pressing on, even when these past events try to take over or reassert themselves in my life.

Moment of Truth by Matthew West

You got your hand on the door
And you’re ready just to walk out
Well, the fight that you had filled your mind up with all this doubt
And you’re losing your mind and losing your faith
And you can’t remember why you fell in love in the first place

Go back, go back to the moment of truth
When she walked down the aisle
And you first said, “I do”
When this life makes you wonder what have you got to lose
Go back, go back to the moment of truth

You got your hand on a habit
And you can’t seem to let it go
It used to be your escape now it’s out of control
And now it’s you in the mirror
But you don’t recognize your face
And you’re looking for a reason not to throw it all away

Just go back, go back
To the moment of truth
With three words, “it’s a girl”
And she looks just like you
When this life makes you wonder what have you got to lose
Go back, just go back to the moment of truth

You got your hand on the Bible
But your heart feels like stone
‘Cause you think that you’ve made too many mistakes to come home
And you’re losing your will
And you’re losing your faith
And now you wonder if you even believed in the first place

Just go back to the moment of truth
When you first talked to Jesus
And He reached out for you
He’s still reaching, He’s still reaching out for you
So when this life makes you wonder what have you got to lose
Just go back, just go back
To the moment of truth

If you don’t know Jesus personally, please drop me an email, I would be glad to share all about Him with you.

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

