Posted by: hugapoohlouise | November 20, 2010

Home Sweet Home…

Who could have believed that a person could miss home so much.  I’ve had quite a few homes over the years.

When I was born and growing up I lived in Michigan.  When I was about to start high school we moved to Florida.  While I lived in Florida, I lived in various places.  I lived in small towns, large college towns and then back to small country towns.  I think I prefer the country, I like wide open spaces.  I like to be able to have a clothes line.  To have more than one vehicle parked in my driveway.  I hate when associations tell me what I can and can not do with my property.  I guess that is why I live in a small, rural town in the middle of no where.  We do have a Wal-Mart so I guess that puts us on the map.

I really missed home, while I was gone.  I think it would have been easier if I had a Starbucks and internet access where I went.  Talk about dark ages.  They had dial-up that worked sometimes, of course never when I needed to use it.  Most of all I missed my three little girls.  What a trying experience.  It was the first time I had been away from them for any length of time.  I also missed my dh and my dad.  I even missed my little four-legged creatures.  I know they  missed me as it took my Pomeranian three days to eat after I left.

Given the choice I wouldn’t have went on this spur of the moment trip.  But then again we are not always given a choice are we?  I agreed about five years ago to be the executor of a dear friends will, never really grasping what this meant or really thinking that one day I would be called to step up.  Guess what?  I received the call in the middle of the night from my dear friends sister.  My friend had passed away and they needed me to come.  As I was shaking the cobwebs of sleep from my brain I slowly began to realize exactly what that meant.  Montana in November?  Who was I kidding.  After all I grew up in Michigan I could handle it right.  Boy, was I wrong.  I have not seen snow since 1985.  I have not experienced cold like Montana experiences cold.  I was not prepared.  I only own one winter jacket and it is a dress long leather duster type.  Which is not practical for battling the cold Montana weather.

I am so thankful for my new truck.  I drove, as I am not keen on flying.  So off I went on another adventure.  I don’t know about you but it seems in my life when I start an adventure there is always someone’s death that perpetuates it.  I was so sad, as my dear friend is only 10 years older than me.  I had plenty of lonely miles to think of my life and the mistakes I made and the accomplishments and all the things that I am thankful for and the things I wish I could change.  The new Ford made the piles and I do mean piles of snow seem like puddles.  Never once did I get stuck.  I did slip and slide around on some of the rural trails I had to take to find my friends ranch in Montana.  It is such beautiful country, just wish I got to explore it in the summer.

Needless to say I was so shocked when they explained to me that the internet service was scratchy at best.  They weren’t lying.  The phone service is not the best either, but thank God for cell phones, mine worked beautifully.  To call that is, not to access the web.  My friends ranch is 80 miles from the nearest town.  The ranch where she lived was so beautiful, very secluded and private.  Her horses are gorgeous creatures.  I feel in love the moment my feet hit the cold hard tundra.  If only I could make it through the winter I could see me and my girls living in this God forsaken country.  I had thoughts of John Wayne and Custer.  Don’t ask me why.

After the funeral and the reading of her will, I was getting pretty anxious to head home.  I heard we had a cold front.  40 degrees was like a heat wave to me at this point in time, and I was so starved for conversation from someone other than the horses, cows and goats.

I am home now and glad to be back.  But I do have to tell you I left a part of Melissa in Montana.  I can see why my friend moved there and why she loved it.  But without my girls and my dh and dad it just wasn’t home.

My friend left me her ranch in Montana.  That is my dilemma.  What does a converted Michigander, Floridian do with a 200 acre ranch in Montana.  What was she thinking?  I consider myself blessed that she would consider leaving me such a blessing.  We still have probate to go through.  My husband has never even left the state of Florida, I can just see a Florida boy living in Montana.  My girls are excited, a horse ranch.

So I am glad to be home, and I missed all my loyal readers and I thank you for being so gracious and not getting upset with me over my absence.

We have a winner of our latest contest and she has emailed me and I will be mailing it out to her on Monday.

Glad to be home.

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

