Posted by: hugapoohlouise | January 9, 2011

What are you using your faith for?

This is a message the Lord laid on my heart during a 21 day fast.

Romans 12:3 KJV “For I say, through the grace given unto me, to every man that is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think; but to think soberly, according as God hath dealt to every man the measure of faith.”

Emphasis is mine.  I want to focus on the last part of this Scripture.  “According as God hath dealt to every man (or woman) the measure of faith.  I shared the King James Version above but you can read it in any version you are comfortable/familiar with.

Here is the Amplified version too:

Romans 12:3 “For by the grace (unmerited favor of God) given to me I warn everyone among you not to estimate and think of himself more highly than he ought [not to have an exaggerated opinion of his own importance], but to rate his ability with sober judgment, each according to the degree of faith apportioned by God to him.”

According to God’s Word, He has given every man the measure of faith.  We all start out with the same amount of faith “a measure”.  Just how much is a measure?  According to a sermon by Kenneth Hagin on The Measure of Faith – “The measure you were given when you received Jesus as Lord was enough to cause you to be born again. It is enough to bring victory over anything the world can throw at you.”

What we do with this measure of faith determines if it will increase or remain the same.  Which reminds me of the parable of the talents Jesus shared in Matthew 25:14-30. ESV ““For it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants [1] and entrusted to them his property. 15 To one he gave five talents, [2] to another two, to another one, to each according to his ability. Then he went away. 16 He who had received the five talents went at once and traded with them, and he made five talents more. 17 So also he who had the two talents made two talents more. 18 But he who had received the one talent went and dug in the ground and hid his master’s money. 19 Now after a long time the master of those servants came and settled accounts with them. 20 And he who had received the five talents came forward, bringing five talents more, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me five talents; here I have made five talents more.’ 21 His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. [3] You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ 22 And he also who had the two talents came forward, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me two talents; here I have made two talents more.’ 23 His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ 24 He also who had received the one talent came forward, saying, ‘Master, I knew you to be a hard man, reaping where you did not sow, and gathering where you scattered no seed, 25 so I was afraid, and I went and hid your talent in the ground. Here you have what is yours.’ 26 But his master answered him, ‘You wicked and slothful servant! You knew that I reap where I have not sown and gather where I scattered no seed? 27 Then you ought to have invested my money with the bankers, and at my coming I should have received what was my own with interest. 28 So take the talent from him and give it to him who has the ten talents. 29 For to everyone who has will more be given, and he will have an abundance. But from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away. 30 And cast the worthless servant into the outer darkness. In that place there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.”

In regards to the measure of faith that we’ve all been given by God, do we want to be like the servant with the five (5) talents?  Take our faith and double it?  Or do we want to be like the servant who received the one (1) talent hiding our faith and not using it?

The only way we can increase our faith according to the Word is to use it.  See James 2:17 ESV “So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.”  Faith that doesn’t work or show itself by good deeds is no faith at all it is dead and useless.  Just like the buried talent.

As I sat in church this past Sunday morning, I saw my faith as a cast net that is used in fishing.  The measure of faith given to me by God is cast out and pulled back to me.  How by exercising my faith, using my faith, living my faith, believing in the faith not by what I see.  My faith will increase just as the talents did.

So I ask you today, which servant are you?  The good and faithful one or the wicked and slothful one?

Until next time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

