Posted by: hugapoohlouise | January 23, 2011

My fasting journey continues….

Well…. my fast is officially over by the time you are reading this post.  Our church ended our fast on 01/23/11 at sundown.  We started our fast on 01/02/11 at sundown.

Officially it is over.  I can’t complain, I really feel like my fasting coffee and Coke helped me draw closer to God.  I felt like it challenged me to do things that I normally wouldn’t do, to study things and look at things from a different perspective.  I am so glad I did it.

Just as a FYI I am going to be doing a review on a book about a Daniel Fast by Zondervan so I will be doing some more fasting.  I also plan on continuing to fast and pray as the need arises in my life.  For certain ministries, for revival and most of all for our nation.

As you can tell from my previous posts, I gave up coffee and Coke, two major things in my life.  I gave this up to the Lord.  It was hard in the beginning as my body or should I say flesh screamed for caffeine.  I had the headaches, irritability that goes with withdrawal.  But the Lord strengthened me to make it past this part.  The time I spent drinking coffee or Coke, I gave to the Lord in prayer, Bible Study and meditation on His Words.

It seems that my word was Faith as I’ve shared a little bit with you what the Lord has brought to my remembrance.  Without faith it is impossible to please God.  It is my desire to please God with all that I do.  Faith without works is dead.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t want dead faith.  I want alive, living faith that is growing, exercised.  I want faith like Abraham, who had faith even when hoped had died.

During my fast, the Lord stretched me to meet the verse NLT “Instead, you must worship Christ as Lord of your life. And if someone asks about your Christian hope, always be ready to explain it.”  One of my co-workers that I’ve been praying for approached me with a question about karma.  I don’t believe in karma, so I gave her the full-blown answer.  The Lord.  When I shared with her that He wants to bless us with good gifts, she said what about all those children that die in earthquakes, etc.  I explained to her that we live in a sinful world.  Our discussion went on for quite sometime even my big boss got to hear the reason for my hope.  Hope that is not of this world.  I hope I reached her heart and his too.  I’ve prayed for more opportunities like this.  I pray that the Spirit will give me the words to say in a way that will convict their heart.  That the love of Christ will be shed abroad in my heart and they will come to Him.  That the Lord would use me a willing vessel.  I am not special, just a submitted child ready to be used by my Lord.

Also during the fast, I got good news at work.  We’ve been on a hiring freeze for sometime, which I think is the national average.  No raises, more hours, fewer people you know the drill.  Well in this week’s staff meeting we found out we made the fourth quarter goals, in fact we went over, majorly.  So we get a bonus.  If we make first quarter goals for 2011 we will also get a raise.  Whooooo.  Thank you Lord.  This is truly a move of the Lord.

So as you can see even though the flesh rebels against a fast, the Spirit is willing and if we will only submit we can fast for the Lord.  Be it one thing, two things or a whole meal or more than one meal.  We can do all things through Christ who strengthens us.

I hope you’ll spend sometime praying about what the Lord would have you fast, when he wants you to fast and why He wants you to fast.  I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

Until next time…

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

