Posted by: hugapoohlouise | January 31, 2011

It is always too soon to give up with God!

I read these words in my devotional Bible this morning.  I have probably seen them before, but for some reason this morning a light bulb went off in my brain.  I won’t say it went off because I am currently drinking java again, but you get my drift.

How many times in our life have we given up?  We thought we persevered for long enough, just thrown in the towel?  I know in my life there have been times when I’ve thought and said “I just give up. I can’t do this anymore.”  How about you?  Now be truthful, completely honest.  I am not just talking about spiritual things I am talking about life in general.

When I read these words “It is always too soon to give up with God” this morning, I began to ponder on what they mean in my own life.  How many times have I prayed for something or someone for xxx amount of time and then giving up, because with my natural eyes I didn’t see an answer.  How many times have I tried to read the Bible through in a year or two and given up because I’ve fallen behind?  How many times have I tried to do ____(you fill in the blank) and given up because it didn’t happen according to my plan or fast enough?

God’s timing is not as ours.  One day is as a thousand years according to the Bible.  So why do we give up?  Because we are looking at things with our natural eyes, our flesh or through the world’s rose-colored glasses.  We don’t give God a chance to show us something miraculous because we are an impatient generation.  We want it now, when we want it or not at all.

How many blessings, opportunities to share Jesus have I missed because I gave up too soon?  This is a humbling thought.

In the past two years I’ve been sharing the gospel with someone.  In my flesh, I thought this would be the last person that I would share Jesus with.  I saw this person through my fleshly, earthly eyes.  They cussed, I saw how they lived and I didn’t see them needing Jesus.  But the Bible says we have all sinned and come short of the glory of God.  The Bible also told me not to judge.  So I kept pressing on.  Praying, fasting, talking, listening to, for and with this person.  I gave this person a Bible and encouraged them to attend a church.  I kept my hope alive by seeing this person with Jesus. . There were times when it didn’t look like anything I was praying, fasting for was going to come to pass.  But…. at the darkest moment, I got confirmation from the Lord.  This person’s last words on the earth were “Tell Melissa, that I am going to Heaven as I see Jesus.”

When this was passed on to me, I was awestruck.  The Lord let me see just a glimpse of what He can do, Not Melissa, when we refuse to give up and let God.  So next time you are tempted to throw in the towel, don’t.  Keep pressing on like your life depends on it.  I mean after all we do it each day to pay our bills, provide food on our table or get that new car, why not do it for God or some lost soul who is headed for the Lake of Fire.

Just wanted to share a humbling thought with you today.  Do you know Jesus?

Until next time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

