Posted by: hugapoohlouise | February 4, 2011

In the Blink of an eye…

Yesterday, me and co-worker went to lunch at our local Mexican restaurant.  Mmmmm.  It was a nice lunch.  I enjoyed myself.

Then, in a blink of an eye everything changed.  As we were leaving the restaurant, we saw a terrible car accident.  We were not eye-witnesses, but we arrived right after.  All I remember is there was a lot of smoke and there was a very small body laying under one of the vehicles.  There was a truck and car involved and a man running around the car frantic.  But… no one seemed concerned about the little body under the truck.

As my hand shook trying to dial 911, all I could do was keep repeating to my co-worker is that a body under the truck?  She couldn’t see the truck from her view only the car.  When 911 finally answered after the 11th ring (that’s what we get when we live in a rural area) I explained the nature of my emergency, rather calmly I do so say so myself.  I was informed they were already in route.  Thank God.

When we returned to the office, I was still visibly shaken.  We informed our news team and one of our reporters left to attend the scene.

In the blink of an eye, each one of those people involved in that accident’s life changed dramatically.  The thought that kept nagging me was, what if they don’t know Jesus as Lord.  So my lesson for today was to remember that we are not guaranteed a tomorrow.  That we are to make the most of what we are blessed with today.

Later, I heard that all involved in the accident were in stable condition in the hospital even the little boy who was under the truck and the little girl.  This was a relief to me.

When you witness something like this it makes you realize just how fragile our existence is.  Your children flash before your eyes as the little body laying on the pavement.  You remember all the things you wished you have done.  The things you didn’t say or the things you did say and wished you didn’t.  It was a real eye-opener for me.

It made me realize that I need to live each second, moment as though I won’t have another.  To not leave things unsaid or said that shouldn’t have been.  To do the things that are eternal and fleshly.  To live life to the fullest as Jesus came to accomplish.

I hope you will too.

Until next time.

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

