Posted by: hugapoohlouise | February 10, 2011

Are you a laborer?

As I sat in church this past Sunday, the Lord began to speak to my heart about this verse.  Luke 10:2 KJV “Therefore said he unto them, The harvest truly is great, but the labourers are few: pray ye therefore the Lord of the harvest, that he would send forth labourers into his harvest.”

How often have you prayed for your lost loved ones, friends that laborers would come across their paths?  That the message of salvation would be shared with them.  That they would hear about Jesus from someone who they would listen too and heed.  I know I’ve prayed this prayer more times than I can count.  But… the Lord asked me, “Melissa, before you pray this prayer you need to be willing to be a laborer yourself.”  Talk about the convicting power of the Lord.  I sat there in total awe.  I started searching my heart to see if I was a laborer.  Have I answered the call of my Lord?  What have I done to fulfill this call?  Was I willing?  Was my heart willing?  Was I doing it for the right reasons?

I am ashamed to say that my answer did not measure up.  I immediately had to ask for forgiveness from God.  I had not answered the call, I was not doing what the Lord wanted me to do.  I had failed to be a labor, but was oh so willing to pray for laborers to come across the paths of people I prayed for.  How selfish of me.  How many people have crossed my path and I failed to reflect Jesus.  How many souls did I let down?  I am truly sorry if you are one of those people.

Right then and there, I made a renewed commitment to the Lord.  I want to be a laborer and I prayed for the power to perform this, the love to do it in Jesus Name.  So if you come across my path, I must warn you that I will be fulfilling my call and I will share the love of Jesus with you.  I may only get one chance and I don’t want to let that chance slip through my fingers.

So instead of praying for laborers to come across the path of people we are praying for, step up to the plate and become a laborer for the Lord.  Be prepared to be amazed as the Lord uses you in mighty ways to further His Kingdom.  He doesn’t need me, but He’ll use me if I am a willing vessel.  What an honor to be able to do the work of my Father.  It is rather humbling when you think about it.  That He would use me, little ole’ me.

Thank you Lord for your convicting power and Your Word that never returns void.

Until next time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

