Posted by: hugapoohlouise | February 24, 2011

Are you following God?

As I was doing my Bible reading this week, one thought kept coming to the forefront of my mind.  Are you following me?  Melissa, are you really following me?

I am reading from the Daily Walk Bible this year and I have been reading about the Israelites trip from Egypt to the promised land.  How God brought them out of Egypt and their wanderings in the wilderness for 40 years due to their own rebellion.

KJV “Exo 13:21  And the LORD went before them by day in a pillar of a cloud, to lead them the way; and by night in a pillar of fire, to give them light; to go by day and night:
Exo 13:22  He took not away the pillar of the cloud by day, nor the pillar of fire by night, from before the people.”

The Lord led them by day with a pillar of a cloud.  This is amazing to me.  As they wandered through some of the driest land in the area, they had the perfect sun screen.  The Lord’s cloud.  Then by night they traveled by a pillar of fire.

So no matter what, they knew where the Lord was and they were able to follow Him.  Look for a cloud during the day, or a pillar of fire at night (which in my opinion would be hard to miss).  No guessing what the Lord’s will is or where He wants you to go.

This morning as I was driving to work the song “I will Follow” by Chris Tomlin came on the radio and it dawned on me, that it is not quite so easy for us.  We today, do not have a cloud during the day light hours to follow.  At night we are not led by a  pillar of fire.  I am not in any way grumbling or complaining.  Today, we have the Holy Spirit to guide us.  The Holy Spirit indwells us and He leads us in the paths that we are to follow.  This is what conviction is all about.  Ever have that feeling when you are about to do something that was like “errrr”.  What did you do?  Did you go forward?  Did you stop to consider that maybe this was not the path you were suppose to take?  Or did you keep on getting on?

Sometimes, we are not following God as we should.  Unlike the Israelites that had the cloud and pillar of fire, we do not discern the unction of the Holy Spirit clearly.  Or we can’t hear Him over the noise of the world.  Or God forbid, we aren’t listening.  God is still leading us today, just not with a cloud and pillar of fire.  The Holy Spirit leads us. We just have to surrender what we want and allow the Holy Spirit to have His place in our life and then it will be just as clear as a cloud or pillar of fire for us to follow.

I realized that I was not allowing the Holy Spirit to do the leading.  I tend to be one of those take charge people, let’s do it my way or it’s the highway.  I was crowding out the unction of the Spirit in my life, so I could go where I want to go, stay where I want to stay.  The Lord got my attention with His Word to show me that I was walking out of His perfect will for my life.  Thank You, God for your mercy, grace and loving guidance.  I am sorry.  I have sinned against You Lord.  Please forgive me and help me to follow Your promptings from Your Spirit.  Help Your Spirit to be as the cloud and pillar of fire were to the Israelites.  Let me follow you, Lord and not my will.

I will leave you today with the lyrics to Chris Tomlin’s Song “I Will Follow”

Where You go, I’ll go
Where You stay, I’ll stay
When You move, I’ll move
I will follow…

All Your ways are good
All Your ways are sure
I will trust in You alone
Higher than my side
High above my life
I will trust in You alone

Where You go, I’ll go
Where You stay, I’ll stay
When You move, I’ll move
I will follow You
Who You love, I’ll love
How You serve I’ll serve
If this life I lose, I will follow You
I will follow You

Light unto the world
Light unto my life
I will live for You alone
You’re the one I seek
Knowing I will find
All I need in You alone
In You alone

Where You go, I’ll go
Where You stay, I’ll stay
When You move, I’ll move
I will follow You
Who You love, I’ll love
How You serve I’ll serve
If this life I lose, I will follow You
I will follow You

In You there’s life everlasting
In You there’s freedom for my soul
In You there joy, unending joy
And I will follow

Where you go, I’ll go
Where you stay, I’ll stay
When you move, I’ll move
I will follow
Who you love, I’ll love
How you serve I’ll serve
If this life I lose
I will follow

Where You go, I’ll go
Where You stay, I’ll stay
When You move, I’ll move
I will follow You
Who You love, I’ll love
How You serve I’ll serve
If this life I lose, I will follow You
I will follow You
I will follow You, I will follow You

Written by Jason Ingram, Reuben Morgan and Chris Tomlin
© 2010 Windsor Hill Music / So Essential Tunes / West Main Music (SESAC) / sixsteps Music / worshiptogether.com Songs / Vamos Publishing / SHOUT! Publishing (Admin. at EMICMGPublishing.com) (ASCAP)

Until next time,
M

Leave a Reply

Categories

