Posted by: hugapoohlouise | February 26, 2011

Purposeful Planner by Phyllis Sather Product Review

Phyllis Sather sent me the E-book, “Purposeful Planning” to read and implement in my life for 30 days.  I did not pay for the E-book, nor did I receive any compensation for this review.

I know Phyllis would be extremely honored for you to stop by her website at: http://phyllis-sather.com/ Be sure to tell her, Melissa sent ya.

As you know from my previous reviews, I am usually skeptical about E-books or electronic reviews.  I don’t like to use my printer ink in my product reviews. LOL

Purposeful Planning is a rather large E-book, around 80 pages.  So as I printed out my copy to use and abuse, as the skepticism set in.  Then I began to flip through the pages….

On the cover page, it asks the question”Where is the Lord leading your family? Are you doing what you need to do to get there? How to get a vision for where the Lord wants your family to be.”  The first thought that came to mind Scripture KJV “Pro 29:18  Where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he.”  This Scripture reference is also on the front cover of Purposeful Planning.

I want to have a vision that is in line with God’s perfect will for me,and my family.  So I have to confess, I forgot all about printer ink at this point.

Phyllis Sather is a stay-at-home mom who homeschooled her three children and is now working on home college.  Her desire for the Purposeful Planning book is that it will be a glory to God and a blessing to others.

When I began reading or should I say devouring each page, I was surprised.  I expected this to be another how-to book about time management, homeschooling with a little bit of the Lord thrown in.  Boy was I wrong.  This powerful E-book is all about Phyllis’ own family and what they did to conform their lifestyle into a sweet-smelling savor unto the Lord.  It shares her personal advice and admonishments.  Purposeful Planning is a guide for your whole family.  A much-needed one, in my opinion.  We have books on how to plan, organize our own lives, but what about our families?  Especially in a way pleasing to our Lord.

Phyllis lays out a simple to follow step by step plan on what to do in setting aside a weekend to set goals for your family.  With questions that cause you to think about your answers in your own life she helps you to set an agenda for your own family.

Each page of the E-book helps you take an in-depth look at the benefits of planning together as a family versus planning for self.  Phyllis covers areas such as agenda’s, keeping small children occupied, maintaining a schedule in your family, listening techniques.  According to Purposeful Planning, planning together instead of solo brings a family together and strengthens the bonds.  An added plus is family memories are created while planning.

Purposeful planning is written from a Christian view.  Purposeful planning may not be for everyone, but if you are sitting back watching your family growing apart, I would highly recommend it.  Phyllis does not promise quick fixes, she shows you the path and it is up to you to undertake the work.

As Phyllis quotes Charles Hummel in Purposeful Planning “Is there really enough time to do all that God requires of you?”  You’ll never know until you read the E-book and see if you are walking down the right path for your family.

Until next time,

M

Responses

  1. […] at Melissa’s Musings has done a very nice review of my book Purposeful Planning. Thank you Melissa. If you haven’t […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

