Posted by: hugapoohlouise | April 21, 2011

Book Review “Rechurch” Healing Your Way Back to the People of God by Stephen Mansfield

Barna Publications an imprint of Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., sent me a complementary review copy of “Rechurch” by Stephen Mansfield.  I received NO compensation for this review in order to provide you with an objective review.

Now that all the legal stuff is out-of-the-way.  Let’s get on to the good stuff.

Excerpt from the back cover “If you’ve ever attended church you’ve probably suffered a church hurt.”  The back cover goes on to explain that all our stories are familiar.  We’ve attended a church and love it!  Then the church broke up or the pastor left.  Musicians left due to a conflict over the style of worship, affairs ripped the very church apart.  The list goes on….  The author of “Rechurch” Stephen Mansfield has been there.  Though he is now a best-selling author, a popular speaker and a man who advises leaders around the world, he was also a pastor for 20 years.  He loved his job for almost two decades.  Then he learned just how much a church can hurt.  This book is the story of how he learned to dig out of that hurt, break through the bitterness and anger, stop making excuses, and get back to where he needed to be with God and his people.  If your ready, let Stephen walk you through the tough path to healing with love and understanding, but only if you are willing to Rechurch.

What caught my eye immediately upon the release of this book for review was the fact that I like the author have been hurt by a church, pastor I dearly loved.  I thought to myself as I read the back cover and introduction, there are others out there just like me, I am not alone.  It was then that I realized I had to read this book and write a review.  So others will know that they are not alone and suffer in silence and accept the hurt.  Or worse, think they are to blame.

Stephen Mansfield is a very eloquent writer.  He doesn’t mess around with fancy language and big words.  He gets right to the point and gives you tough love so you can pull yourself out of the pit of despair.  He shares his own personal experience and those that loved him enough to help him out of the pit.  I loved that it was a tried and true method and it actually worked in others life.  That is definitely a confidence  booster.

I don’t want to give too much away, but I was not disappointed.  I actually feel quite a few pounds lighter after reading this book.  I left the guilt, shame and blame behind and found forgiveness and was able to forgive even some of the deepest hurts.

Until next time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

