Posted by: hugapoohlouise | May 13, 2011

Book Review: An Anchor for the Soul by Ray Pritchard Moody Publishers

I received no compensation for the review listed below.  I was sent a digital review galley from Moody Publishers using the program Netgalley to read and write an objective review.

This is the first time I’ve done a digital galley review.  I recently joined Netgalley. Netgalley is a global publishing service company.  NetGalley is an innovative and easy-to-use online service and connection point for book publishers, reviewers, media, librarians, booksellers, bloggers and educators.  After some technical difficulties I think I figured it out for the most part.  I was not able to read my digital galley on my Barnes and Noble Nook, I’ve emailed Negalley to find out why, but in the meantime, I was able to read it directly from my laptop.

The above is no reflection on Moody Publishing or the author Ray Pritchard.

“An Anchor for the Soul” by Ray Pritchard. Published by Moody Publishing 02/01/2011.  An Anchor for the Soul is written with doubters, seekers, and skeptics in mind. In a clear, straightforward presentation, he answers questions such as: What is God like? How can I know Him? Who is Jesus and what did He do? What does it mean to be a Christian? Through stories and illustrations, Pastor Pritchard very personally, yet gently, challenges his readers with the Good News of Jesus Christ.   An excerpt from Netgalley digital press kit.

“When you hit rock bottom, you can only look up.” Is a quote from the beginning of the book from a prisoner in Pennsylvania who read the book.  How that quote rings true.  Until you hit the bottom, you won’t look up.  I hit the bottom 12 years ago.  Actually I was so low that I became part of the bottom.  The Lord found me and He lifted me high above the shadows, so far from the bottom.  I am forever grateful for His love and mercy.

I wish I would have had “An Anchor for your Soul” when I first came to know Jesus.  It is an awesome guide-book for any Christian no matter your maturity level, baby Christian, mature Christian.   This book is very easy to understand, it starts at the beginning and takes you all the way to accepting Jesus Christ as Your personal Lord and Savior.  But the most amazing part about this book, is the way it answers questions that come up in your Christian walk.  Ray Pritchard speaks to you in his book from his heart.  You can tell he has walked the same road that you are on and he shares his personal experiences and the experiences of others who have gone before you.

The book is a short but concise guide-book that will be an asset for any Christian library.  It is a great book to share with new converts and can also be used as a witnessing tool.

You won’t regret this read, it definitely is an Aplus in my book.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

