Posted by: hugapoohlouise | May 30, 2011

Happy Memorial Day!

I just wanted to wish everyone a Happy Memorial Day.  Thank you for being a loyal subscriber and reader of Melissa’s Musings.

On May 30th we honor veterans since they have risked their lives for our safety and security.  Ask any grade school child what Memorial Day is all about and you will be deeply sadden.  I was… I asked a few of the children my girls know who attend public school, just what Memorial Day is celebrating.  These are the answers I received:

  • Fireworks
  • picnic’s
  • A day off work
  • The beach

Not quite the response I was hoping for.  I purposely did not ask my girls.  But, someone just  yesterday asked my oldest daughter who we honored on Memorial Day.  Her response was the people who have and are fighting for our freedom.  I was proud.

Dear Lord, I pray that you would be with all those who are in active and inactive service.  Surround them and protect them and lead them in safety. Thank You Lord, Amen.

Have a safe and Happy Day, Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

