Posted by: hugapoohlouise | July 22, 2011

Melissa’s Gleanings

I decided to do a weekly post of Melissa’s Gleanings.  Instead of Ruth’s gleanings, these are what I’ve harvested from the Word of God this week.  I hope they bless you as much as they’ve blessed me.

Proverbs 12:14 People can get many good things by the words they say;…. What are you words saying?  Are they bringing you many good things or are they bringing you heartache?  Why not change what you speak.  On Friday, I took a phone call at work one of our biggest clients who employes a huge part of our county.  He was leaving for vacation and he forgot to pay his bill and he wanted to do it over the phone.  I knew he liked to do it in person so he could get a receipt.   So I told him I’d mail him his charge slip.  He was so happy.  He sent emails to my general manager, my editor and our corporate offices.  Just a few nice words….

Proverbs 13:24 If you refuse to discipline your children it proves you don’t love them; if you love your children, you will be prompt to discipline them.

Can you think of one way in which God has shown Himself to be your Author, Standard, Empowerer, Inspirer, Judge and Rewarder?  This is especially helpful when you have a pitiful me attitude.  How has God shown Himself to you today?  He has sustained me in His arms and I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.

I found a good definition for a Christian Atheist = Believing in God but living as if He doesn’t exist.  Forgive me for forgetting where I saw this quote.

Jesus’ work is to bring life; the work of the congregation is to unbind people from the trappings of death.  Without a crucifixion there can be no resurrection.  This is in the book by Joanna Weaver “Lazarus Awakening’

Until Next Time,

M

Responses

  1. I found great peace the other day when I came across…..Is. 54:8-10
    this is our covenant of peace…..Claim it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

