Posted by: hugapoohlouise | August 2, 2011

Pilot Varsity Disposable Fountain Pen Review

Pilot Pen sent me a seven pack of their Varsity Disposable Fountain pens free of charge to use for 30 days.  I received no compensation for this review.

As you know I love pens.  Pens of all kinds.  But, I have a soft spot for fountain pens.  I don’t have many and the ones I have a treasure.  So when Pilot offered me a chance to review their Varsity Disposable Fountain Pens I jumped at the chance.  I love to journal and I love to color code my journals.  Pilot sent me a seven pack of the Varsity Disposable Fountain pens in the following colors: Purple, Light Blue, Black, Red, Blue, Green and Pink.  The first color I tried out was traditional blue.

I have to tell you I was surprised.  I love fountain pens, but there is usually so much mess associated with fountain pens.  They  bleed through pages, leak and skip.  Not Pilot’s Varsity Disposable Fountain pens.  I tried everything to make them smear and I was unable to succeed.  I wrote sideways, I pressed hard, light and still the pen wrote beautifully.  I loved the size, they are the perfect weight and diameter for my hands.  I have found a new writing instrument.

Pilot’s Varsity Disposable Fountain pens maybe one of the most economical fountain pens on the market in price, but what they lack in price they definitely make up in performance.  Don’t let the price fool you, in this case you get so much more than what you are asked to pay.  Pilot sells one pen for $3.45 each.  Compare that to some of the higher maintenance fountain pens and prepare to be amazed.

Most people I know disregard or ignore Pilot’s Varsity Disposable Fountain pens because they are disposable.  Don’t let that stop you.  They are extremely smooth and allow for expressive writing.  When you’ve used up your pen you can just dispose of it and start a new one.  I’ve been writing with mine for thirty days now, in my journal, in my Bible Study, writing checks and other things each and everyday and I have yet to exhaust the ink supply.  I have to say this is a great bargain and you don’t have to sacrifice anything.

As you can see from the picture above the Pilot Varsity Disposable Fountain pen is plastic and has a cap with a clip.  The pen body itself is very durable, I carried mine around in my huge purse and the cap never came off.  If a pen can survive my garbage bag, I mean purse it has to be durable.

I could go on and on about this pen, but I believe trying it out for yourself would be best.  I know you’ll be hooked just as I am.  A new Pilot Varsity Disposable Pen junkie.  So to all my friends and relatives out there if you need a present hint here it is.  I love these pens and I can’t see writing in my journal with anything else.

Until Next Time,

M

Responses

  1. Hi,
    The Varsity is actually refillable, for those who wish to not throw pens away. And the nib on the Varsity is good enough that it deserves better than to end up in a landfill. 🙂 Here is one method (not my instructions) for refilling the Varsity: http://peninkcillin.blogspot.com/2011/07/how-to-refill-your-pilot-varsity.html

    As for fountain pens in general, good ones don’t leak or skip. If your pen is skipping, the nib may need adjusting to get the ink to flow properly or flushing to remove oils from the manufacturing process. I have 11 fountain pens in use and only one has ever skipped and after pulling the nib and feed and cleaning them out thoroughly, the skipping has stopped.

    Ink bleeding through pages is the result of a combination of the ink being used, the width of the nib, and the quality of the paper. I use ordinary composition notebooks, made by either Mead or Norcom, making sure they’re marked “Made in Brazil” and not elsewhere, and don’t have bleedthrough with any of my pens except for my flexible Waterman, which has a heavier ink flow when flexed than my other pens.


Leave a Reply

Categories

