Posted by: hugapoohlouise | August 8, 2011

Melissa’s Gleanings….

I love the Word of God.  I could read it everyday all day.  But… unfortunately, life gets in the way too many times.  But I have a rule in my life.  Not one that God instituted, one that I chose for myself.  I love to read, before I had a personal relationship with Christ, I loved to read.  Once I accept Jesus as my personal Savior, I still liked to read.  Unfortunately, I was told that I had to read only the Bible and nothing else.  Now this was hard to swallow.  Why couldn’t I read other things?  You can take the girl out of the book but you can’t take the book out of the girl.

So… after stumbling around for a couple of years after I accepted Christ, I finally decided something was not right about the advice I was given.  So I prayed and asked God to show me the truth.  I asked Him to give me a love for His Word and to help me find reading material that would edify me as I lifted him up.  Guess what?  He gave me all kinds of things to read… I can’t keep up.

But anyways, back to my rule.  My flesh would love to read outside of God’s Word as much as possible, so I decided that I would crucify the flesh.  The rule is this:  However many pages I read in God’s Word for any given day, that is the number I allow myself to read in other books.  Now please don’t think this is works.  It is just a rule that I use to govern my fleshly appetites.  The only time I make an exception is when I am doing a Bible Study.  Then I study and read as much as I am assigned or if I am teaching I read what I need to teach.

This rule has worked great for me.  I am hungry for the Word of God and my soul gets fed daily.  I also get to read other things which is such a blessing to me.  I generally wind up reading edifying material anyways.  I love to read autobiographies and such.  I love reading books from Christians that lived before me.  I love to read about the obstacles they’ve faced, to walk with them in the presence of our God.

Here are the verses that I’ve  been meditating on this week.

Jeremiah 1:5 “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart and appointed you as my spokes woman to the world.”  This verse has always amazed me.  God knows me.  He knew me before my earthly parents did.  He knew me even though my mom didn’t acknowledge Him.  He knows me better than I know myself.  This verse always blesses me every time I read it.  It is my prayer that it will bless you too.

Jeremiah 1:19 “They will try, but they will fail. For I am with you, and I will take care of you. I, the Lord have spoken!”  The Lord is with me.  He will take care of me and He has spoken and it is done. Amen.

Jeremiah 3:15 “And I will give you leaders after my own heart, who will guide you with knowledge and understanding”  This is a very controversial verse today.  Where are our Godly leaders?  If we don’t have Godly leaders then who will guide us with knowledge and understanding?  Since, America is not walking in Godly counsel, I can go back to Jeremiah 1:19 and know the Lord is taking care of me and He will lead and guide me even though we don’t have Godly leaders at this time.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

