Posted by: hugapoohlouise | August 20, 2011

When the storms come where do you go?

The Lord delivered me from a fear of storms.  After my mother died, I had a problem with any kind of storm.  Thunderstorms, wind storms, hurricanes, tropical storms, you name it.  My anxiety level would rise and I would experience panic.

That was until I realized that it was the enemy keeping me from focusing.  Once the Lord opened my eyes and showed me how I was allowing the enemy to have power in my life, I was delivered.

Sometimes the Lord calms the storm; more often He lets the storm rage and calms the child.

The above saying helped me tremendously.  I was praying and asking the Lord to stop the storm.  To stop the wind, the rain so I wouldn’t have panic attacks or anxiety.  But I was praying wrong.  The Lord was with me through the storm.  He was right there beside me waiting for me to surrender to Him so He could calm ME not the storm.  Once I surrendered He gave me peace that passes all understanding.

Isn’t it amazing what we miss when we think we know what we should pray for.  What we keep on praying for because we think we know best?  But when we allow the Holy Spirit to have His way in our life, we realize we were wrong and God is always right.

When you are in the storm you crave rest and the peace of God.  Matt. 13:44.  We’ve ignored the warning signs that were going around us.  So we found ourselves within the storm.  Ps. 107:30.

Storms don’t last forever.  The spiritual, natural, or physical storms.  Only the Word of God lasts forever.  One thing you can be glad or thankful for is that when you are going through a storm, it won’t last forever.

This too shall pass.  The Lord gave me a spirit of power, of love and a sound mind. 2 Tim. 1:7.  When you are in the storm trust God.

Ps. 107:19 Cry out to the Lord and He will help you in your storm.  He will save you from your distress.

Thank you Lord for your patience and for calming the storm within me.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

