Posted by: hugapoohlouise | September 15, 2011

Melissa’s Gleanings

I was reading in a book the other day the following saying and I wanted to share it with you.

“Slaves cannot skip a day of work, but free people can.  Not all free people choose to do so.”  To keep the Lord’s Day holy is to exercise our freedom, to declare ourselves to be neither a tool to be employed or an employee.  Nor a beast to be burdened.  To keep this day is also to remember one’s freedom and to recall the One from whom that freedom came and still comes.

Think about that.  Do you honor the Lord by setting one day aside each week as holy?  Ever the Lord took one day to rest.  Why should we as mere human beings think we can go without rest?  We work, we toil, seven days a week, fifty-two weeks a year.  What happens?  We burn out.  Talk about burning the candle at both ends.

Thanks to Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior I am free indeed!  I declare a day of rest.

God hates the sin, but He loves the sinner.  God never blurs the distinction between the sinner and his/her sin.  His love for the sinner never ends, nor does His hatred for their sin.

Hosea Chapter 14 has been called the backsliders chapter.

It gives the steps of returning to the Lord.

1.  Return to the Lord, if God is distant from you, it must mean I have moved.  God does not move.

2.  Confess your sins to the Lord.  Agree with Him that what you have done is wrong and needs to be forsaken.

3.  Put your confidence in the Lord, lean on the Rock that can never be moved.

God is my refuge, my stronghold, my fortress.  My rock and my fortress are BIG enough to rule this mighty universe, yet small enough to live in my heart.

Joel 2:22 Rejoice, you people of Jerusalem!  Rejoice in the Lord your God!  For the rains He sends are an expression of His grace.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

