Posted by: hugapoohlouise | September 27, 2011

Melissa’s Gleanings….

As I was reading the Bible the other day I began to ask God to show me what He wanted me to learn as a result of my daily reading.  I asked Him to show me more of His character through the pages I was reading.  When an action came to me, I followed it up with Scripture to make sure it lined up with the Word of God.  I have found when I do this each and every time I sit down to read the Bible, I walk away with so much more than I ever expected.  Will you give this a try this week?  I know the Lord has something for you too.

I was speaking to a friend this week about losing someone we love.  We had a mutual friend pass away after a long battle with her illness.  We were focusing on the grieving process.  I shared about my mom and she shared a story from her life.  Then she passed on this nugget of wisdom from a Jehovah Witness friend of hers who was trying to comfort her in grief.  She said “It is not fair.  We teach our kids that life is not fair and that is right about death.  It is not fair and it is not the way that God intended when He created man.  Man was supposed to live forever in fellowship with the Lord and not taste death, BUT because of sin we lost that privilege.  We know live in a fallen world filled with sin and we experience physical death.”  That is why we struggle with the grieving process, God didn’t make us that way.

Due to my job situation, I have not been able to attend my ladies Bible Study class for almost two years now.  It broke my heart when I returned to work and could not be with my friends, sisters every Tuesday.  One area of my life where I was fed spiritually, lifted up and prayed for, encouraged by was shut down.  I struggled with this for a while, I tried doing Bible Studies on my own, doing them via email but it just was not the same.  Until the other day when I stumbled across the book “The Resolution of Women” by Priscilla Shirer of Going Beyond Ministries.  She is hosting on her blog “The Resolution Revolution Book Club”.  It is one of the most unique online Bible Studies I’ve ever came across.  You select a pen pal from the list of participants.  You connect with your pen pal about what you are reading and studying.  There are live discussions, videos to watch when you are ready.  You can even chat live while the live discussion is taking place.  I was truly amazed and truly blessed to come upon this study.  I am only in my second week.  I was a discouraged at the beginning because I still have not been able to watch “Week 1 Bible Study Begins” video.  For some reason it keeps giving me an error that this video is in a playlist and I can’t watch just one episode of the play list.  I’ve written to Going Beyond Ministries and the book club but I haven’t received a response.  It seems like there is a vital part missing without watching the first video, I have no idea what was required of me the first week, what the memory verse is, etc.  So please keep me in your prayers.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

