Posted by: hugapoohlouise | October 7, 2011

Enemies of the Heart By Andy Stanley – Book Review

Multnomah Publishing sent me “Enemies of the Heart” by Andy Stanley to review as part of their Blogging for Books program.  I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.  I was not paid for the review, I was given a complementary copy to read and write an objective review.  I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did.

From the back of the book:
“Divorce. Job loss. Estrangement from family members.  Broken friendships.

The difficult circumstances you are dealing with today are likely being fed by one of four emotional forces that compels you to act in undesirable ways, sometimes even against your will.

Andy Stanley explores each of these destructive forces – guilt, anger, greed and jealousy – and how they infiltrate your life and damage your relationships.  In “Enemies of the Heart”, Andy offers practical, biblical direction to help you fight back, to take charge of those feelings that mysteriously control you, and to restore your broken relationships.”

The book  contains a six-week discussion guide which is a valuable resources for small group study.

When Multnomah Publishing sent me the book to review, I have to admit it immediately caught my eye.  After all who does not have things in your life that you feel are controlling you.  I’ve never read an Andy Stanley book before so this was my first taste.  The book is aimed at the Christian community.

After reading the first section of the book I was a little disappointed.  I decided to keep pressing on as some books are slow starters.  In the first part of the book the reason why we should examine the heart is covered.  I have always been taught that we should examine the heart as follows of Jesus Christ.  From the heart springs out of the mouth and into our life.  In a nutshell, right heart, right life.  Andy Stanley’s explanation of examining the heart just kept going on story after story.  I felt he could have shared they why’s and went on.  I think that was one of the reason I was disappointed.

In the second half of the book, Andy Stanley examines and defines the four enemies that own us.  He did a better job in writing and addressing these topics than the previous one.

And the last section of the book, Andy offers the process to eliminating these enemies that own us.  I have to say this was the most disappointing section.  I expected so much more.  But Andy offered a one step process to remove these emotions in my life that were owning me.  I know the message of Christianity is simple, but this was a little too simple if you know what I mean.  I don’t want to give too much away, but suffice it to say I was disappointed.  This section needed more Scriptural references and the bare bones gospel presented.

Overall, I was disappointed in my first read of Andy Stanley’s material.  I give this a 3 out of 10, with ten being the highest.

This book is published by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

