Posted by: hugapoohlouise | October 9, 2011

Self – Examination

As you may have read from my previous posts, I am doing an online Bible study with Priscilla Shirer.  The Resolution Revolution Book club.  I am really enjoying it.  That was until I got to week three.  Authentically you.  In this chapter we are supposed to write down the following categories and list what we believe should go in them.  Now I don’t know about you, but I have a hard time examining myself.  I always feel like when I come with something I think should go in a category about myself I am bragging and then I feel bad.  So just to be on the safe side I emailed two of my bestest friends in the whole wide world and asked them to help me fill in the below categories.

My first category was spiritual gifts.  What are my spiritual gifts?  I have no idea, again I hate to fill in anything for fear of being boastful.  So two BFF’s I am relying on you for this one and then I’ll compare what I came up with.

The second category is my talents.  Who said this was going to be easy right.  Well, I know I love to talk and I love to write.  So there are two.

The third category is my passions.  Yikes.  The Lord is my first passion.  My husband and my family are next.  I love to blog, study the Bible, read, collect ink pens, and write.  Okay this might not be so bad after all.

The fourth category is my eccentricities.  Ouch.  The verdict is still out on this.  My dh say it is my organization, I believe everything should have a place and that everything should be in that place.  I hate clutter.  I grew up in a cluttered house and I refuse to allow it in my house.  He says that when he sets something down, like for example the remote, I pick it up and put it where it belongs and he reaches for it and can’t find it.

The fifth category is my dislikes.  I can’t stand gossip, snobs.  I can’t stand greens, hurricanes and storms.

The sixth category is my weaknesses.  I would have to say letting go.  I take everything personal.  I would also say it is saying I am sorry.  I have a hard time with that word.

The seventh category is my interests.  Well this one is easy.  Loving the Lord with all my heart, reading, blogging, Bible study, fellowship, pens and talking.

The last category is my uniqueness.  What makes me Melissa?  I would have to say that God formed me in my mother’s womb before I was born and He knew me and made me according to His plan.

So as you can see I’ve been busy this week.  Self-examination is not exactly a piece of cake but it sure is an eye opener.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

