Posted by: hugapoohlouise | December 31, 2011

Happy New Year!!!

My prayer for 2012 is that you have a safe, happy and very blessed New Year.  As I sit here and post this on New Year’s Eve 2012, I am praying for all those who decided to ring in the New Year.  I pray that they don’t drink and drive.  I pray for the designated drivers.  I pray for the families who are traveling on the road with the people who didn’t make wise decisions about drinking and driving.  I pray for the teens, elderly drivers on the road tonight.  I pray that God’s umbrella of protection would surround you and His angels would lead you home safely.

As 2012 begins I want to ask my followers and readers, do you make New Year’s resolutions?  I normally don’t make New Year resolutions.  Why?  It is a rather personal decision.  I choose to allow my resolutions to come from my creator, God.  God searches the heart, He is the only one who truly knows me.  So I guess what I do each new year is spend time in prayer and meditation on the Word of God.  Each year I chose a different version of the Bible to read through in one year.  This is also the Bible I use in my study and quiet times.  This year I chose the Common English Bible.  I am excited as I embark on a journey I’ve taken many times before, but each year as I read through the Word of God, I find new nuggets, new verses to empower me, to strengthen me in those dark times, to lift me up, to share with others.

As each new year begins, I also pray for a verse.  This verse becomes my verse for that particular year.  Last year my verse was Nehemiah 8:10.  In particular the joy of the Lord is my strength.  I also select one word from my verse and do a study on this word through out the year.  So my word in 2011 was “Joy”.

I also pray about the things in my life that God wants to prune.  Things, habits, thoughts, etc that do not show that the Lord is worthy to me.  It maybe something I say, something I do, something that I think on or it could be changing the way I say something, do something to be more effective for the Kingdom of God.

Instead of making all those New Year resolutions this year, why don’t you let the Lord lead you in His Word through prayer as to what He wants you to resolve to do in 2012.  Please feel free to share with me, I’d love to hear what God saith to you.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

