Posted by: hugapoohlouise | January 12, 2012

Devotional Bible Study on Psalms 1:1-6 CEB Bible

As 2012 begins, I’ve committed and made a covenant with the Lord to study His Word using the Devotional Bible Study Method.  I recently read Rick Warren’s book “Bible Study Methods”.  He shares one of the most exciting Bible Study methods in this book.  He lays out the procedure so easily that even I can follow it and glean from God’s Word.

Psalms 1:1-6 CEB “1 The truly happy person  doesn’t follow wicked advice,
doesn’t stand on the road of sinners,  and doesn’t sit with the disrespectful.
2 Instead of doing those things, these persons love the LORD’s Instruction,
and they recite God’s Instruction day and night!
3 They are like a tree replanted by streams of water,
which bears fruit at just the right time
and whose leaves don’t fade.
Whatever they do succeeds.

4 That’s not true for the wicked!
They are like dust that the wind blows away.
5 And that’s why the wicked will have no standing
in the court of justice—  neither will sinners
in the assembly of the righteous.
6 The LORD is intimately acquainted
with the way of the righteous,
but the way of the wicked is destroyed.”

A truly happy person avoids all appearances of evil. If it looks bad or will cause others to stumble avoid it.  Does not do the deeds of the wicked.  Instead a truly happy person loves the Lords commandments and memorizes them.  When you love the Lords commands and memorize them you will be a prosperous, fruitful instrument of God and experience success. You will be like a tree replanted by streams of water.  Living water.  You will flourish in your spiritual life and your life will bear fruit at the right time for the glory of God.   The wicked will perish.

I am commanded in these verses to love the Lord and His commands.  The promise if I do this is that I will be fruitful and have success and be intimately acquainted with the Lord.  The sheep know the Shepherd and the Shepherd knows the sheep.  What a blessing.

How can I apply this to my own life?  I need to study the instructions of the Lord, to memorize them so I can guard against sin in my life.  I can memorize one verse a month.  I can also write out these instructions in my journal. Abide in Jesus each and every moment of my day.  Pray for guidance and lean no unto my own understanding.  Allow the Word of God to mold and shape me to be more like Jesus.

My memorization verse for this month is: Psalms 1:3.

Will you join me?

Until Next Time,

M

Responses

  1. =]


Leave a Reply

Categories

