Posted by: hugapoohlouise | March 3, 2012

Melissa’s Gleanings….

I was studying in John Chapter 5 verse 3 the other day about the Holy Spirit who is the author of new birth in Christ.

I started asking questions, what exactly is the Holy Spirit’s role in salvation?

Conversion?  John 16:8-11

Regeneration? John 3:5-6 and 2 Corinthians 5:17

Indwelling? Romans 8:9, 1 John 5:11-12

Baptism? 1 Corinthians 12:13 and 1 Corinthians 1:30

Sealing? 2 Corinthians 1:21-22

Filing? Ephesians 5:18

Assurance? Romans 8:16

The Holy Spirit is the third person of the godhead.  I know there are people out there who don’t believe in the Holy Spirit.  I’ve actually met an entire family that denies the exists of the Holy Spirit.  The refuse to acknowledge Him and they refuse to sing of Him.  My heart goes out to this family, it is so sad when you can see the enemies deception so plainly in others.  It makes me wonder what is the deception that I am believing?  Still I pray for this family that the Lord would help them see the way, the truth and the light.  But over and over in my head this verse comes up – Ephesians 4:30 KJV “And grieve not the holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption.”

The Holy Spirit convicts me of my sin and shows me that I need a Savior. Thank you Lord for the Holy Spirit and for His presence in my life, I welcome Him in with open arms.

The Holy Spirit described in God’s Word as another comforter, help, etc.

Another means one of the same kind when it is said that another comforter will be sent in John 14:16-17 we are talking about one of the same kind.  One of the same kind as who?  Comforter means someone who is called to the side of for the purpose of helping.  I don’t know about you but I need someone like this.  Help means to support and to give material or non-material encouragement.

To me the Holy Spirit means as follows:

The Holy Spirit is with me forever.

The Holy Spirit provides the resources when, where and how I need them.

The Holy Spirit enables me to personally experience the Lord’s presence.

The Holy Spirit allows Jesus to continue His ministry on earth in and through me.

The Holy Spirit comforts me and will never leave me all alone.

The Holy Spirit glorifies Christ.

Holy Spirit teaches you object truth.

The Holy Spirit helps me to remember the Word of God.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

