Posted by: hugapoohlouise | March 31, 2012

What happens when your ugly comes out.

What happens when your ugly comes out.  No matter how hard I try, I always fail.  I am going along, smooth sailing and then bam!  My ugly comes out.  By my ugly I mean an attitude, a temper, a lack of patience.  My ugly is pretty ugly, it is not something I wish on anyone.  When my ugly comes out, God is too full of grace to walk away, thank God.  God’s grace doesn’t give me a free pass to act out how I feel, with no regard to His commands.  But…

When I try to do it in my own strength, with my own power, my own way, my ugly always rears its ugly head and someone is hurt in the process.  I am hurting God.  I hurt myself.  I hurt the other person.

God’s grace gives me a consolation in the moment when ugly begins to pop up.  It is a challenge to learn from the situation and become more mature in the future.  Each and every failing we face has a lesson hidden inside.  Grace is the reason we run to God quickly and boldly and ask for His help.  In the midst of the mess that we’ve created, God is there.  God is with me even when I don’t feel Him.  All you have to do to sense His presence is acknowledge His presence, ask for His help and make the choice to offer praise despite how you feel.  Babbie Mason said “Praise is the key that releases God’s character back into even the ugliest of attitudes and darkest of situations. “

God’s presence brings with it the fruit of His character.  Love, joy, peace.  When my ugly comes out I long, even yearn for the character of God.  I am so ashamed.  But, God is there waiting for us to acknowledge Him, to turn to Him and say I am sorry.  He will restore us and give us the grace necessary to apologize to the person who was on the receiving end of our ugly.  Then we must thank Him and offer Him our praise.  There by the grace of God go I.

I don’t know what you are facing my dear friend.  I haven’t walked an inch in your shoes.  You don’t know what I am facing.  The flesh within us tends to take the easy way out.  We think the situations in our lives are the more difficult than anyone else.  No one else has difficult siblings who make their live miserable.  No one else has people gossiping about them.  No one else has faced the adversity that I’ve faced.

When you find yourself feeling this why I want to encourage you to turn to the Word of God and read about the men and women in the Bible.  For instance, look at David.  He was anointed King while Saul was still acting as King.  Then on top of all that he was pursued by Saul and his men.  Hunted down like a wild animal.

So next time, you are getting ready to have a pity party.  Turn to the Word of God.  Read about the people within and I think your perspective will change.  Another think I like to do when I feel my ugly and pity wishing to stop in unannounced is to praise the Lord.  I am praising the Lord not my circumstances.  I am praising Him because He is in control.

Until next time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 589 other followers

