Posted by: hugapoohlouise | April 13, 2012

The Last Plea Bargain by Randy Singer Book Review & Contest Giveaway!

I participated in a blog tour for Randy Singer’s new book “The Last Plea Bargain“.  I received one complementary advance reader copy of the book to read and review, I received no compensation for this review.  Debbie Lykins at Side Door Communications also allowed me do a giveaway on my blog.  One lucky winner will received their very own copy of Randy Singers book “The Last Plea Bargain“.  Contest details and entries will be at the end of the review.  You will receive a prize certificate in the mail good for one copy of Randy’s book “The Last Plea Bargain“.

I’ve never read Randy Singer’s book before my review.  I love legal fiction and suspense novels.  I thought that I had read all that were available!  So I jumped at the chance to experience a new author.  After reading “The Last Plea Bargain“,  I was hooked.  I had to have more.  So I began at Randy Singer’s website and began hunting down each of his previous novels.  You can visit Randy Singer by clicking on any of his names listed throughout this post.  You can also click on “The Last Plea Bargain” and you will be taken to purchase your very own copy, that is if you can’t wait for the end of the giveaway.

The main character in “The Last Plea Bargain” is Jaime Brock, she was previously introduced in the book “False Witness” also by Randy Singer.

From the back of the book – “Plea Bargains may grease the rails of justice, but for Jaime Brock, prosecuting criminals is not about cutting deals.  In her four years as assistant DA, she’s never plea-bargained a case and vows she never will.  But when a powerful defense attorney is indicted for murder and devises a way to bring the entire justice system to a screeching halt, Jaime finds herself at a crossroads.  One by one, prisoners begin rejecting deals.  Prosecutors are overwhelmed, and felons start walking free on technicalities.  To break the logjam and convict her nemesis, Jaime must violate every principle that has guided her young career.  But she has little choice.  To convict the devil, sometimes you have to cut a deal with one of his demons.”

Randy Singer is a critically acclaimed, award-winning author and veteran trial attorney.  He was recently a finalist with John Grisham and Michael Connelly for the inaugural Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction sponsored by the University of Alabama School of Law and the ABA Journal.

I picked up “Last Plea Bargain” on a Friday night after the kids had retired to bed for the evening.  Now, I’ve read other authors and legal thrillers, John Grisham, Scott Turow, as examples, so when I started reading this new author and his book I couldn’t believe my eyes!  From the very first page Randy Singer draws you into the story of Jaime Brock and her career as assistant DA.  You couldn’t wait to turn the page to find out what was happening next.   I sat on the end of my seat as the anticipation began to build, would she have to compromise her beliefs or would she be able to remain firm in her convictions?  You’ll have to read the book to find the answer to that question.  I was very surprised at the twist ending and that is the only spoiler I am going to give you.  You’ll just have to read it for yourself, but I can tell that you won’t be disappointed.  Another thing I wanted to share with you is this book is published by Tyndale House which is a Christian Publishing Company.

Now for the contest rules and giveaways!  You will win one copy of “The Last Plea Bargain” by Randy Singer and a signed book-plate by Randy.  The winner will receive a prize certificate in the mail for your very own copy of “The Last Plea Bargain” and a signed book-plate that you can redeem.  To enter the contest you will need to do the following things:

Subscribe to Randy Singer’s website for updates on new books or just news.  You’ll definitely want to after reading any of his books.  You’ll also have to join my blog and become a subscriber telling me that you’ve joined Randy Singer’s website so I can verify.  This will get you two entries into the contest.

Share my post on Facebook, Twitter or any other social media site and share the link in a comment on this post for another entry.

Blog about my review and contest on your blog or website and this is good for another entry.

Contest ends on April 22, 2012.  So don’t delay.

So happy entering, Until Next Time,

M


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 578 other followers

