Posted by: hugapoohlouise | May 11, 2012

Melissa’s Gleanings….

Whew.  Has it been a week.  It seems like the enemy was fully engaged with the blood bought child of God this week!  Every where I turned I could see the fiery darts of satan.  Each person I met seemed to have an alternate agenda that satan was using for his good.  Every piece of machinery I touched also seemed to have it in for me.  By Tuesday night I was totally exhausted and could not get a good nights sleep.

Have you ever experiences the attack of your enemy?  Have you noticed how he prowls around hoping to steal your time, your testimony?  The only way we can stand against these attacks is stand on the Word of God (truth) not news, not friends, not family, not data, the truth!  Ephesians 6:13 says “Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.” KJV.

I know why satan is bring on the attack.  I have since the beginning of the year purposed in my heart and made a covenant with the Lord to spend quiet time with Him in His Word.  I recently about a month ago began this new study method.  I shared on my blog about Focused15 and most recently Savoring the Living Water How to Have an Effective Quiet Time.  These two Bible study books helped changed my outlook on Bible study.  Now I hunger, thirst and pant after the Word of God.  I understand when Job said that he loved the Word of God more than food.  So satan is trying to tear me away from this faithful, one day after the next excavation in God’s Word.  I have gleaned so much already things that I had never seen before in Scripture are popping off the page and the Holy Spirit is revealing the knowledge promised by Jesus.  As Jesus molds my life through the Word of God it is becoming more effective for His purpose and our enemy does not like that.  So I guess I should have expected the attack.  I was prepared I just wasn’t expecting it to come in the form that it did.  Know what I mean?

I have been studying the book of Galatians with an online group.  Study 1 Corinthians 13 the love chapter with the Focused15 method.  I am still finishing up my DO NOT DEPART study in Psalms.  I began leading an online group of ladies in a book study called Knowing God By Name author Mary A. Kassian.  I have really met some awesome people who will be doing this study with me.  I love to reach out through online studies and met new people.  You can fellowship miles away and praise God together.

So as you spend quiet time with the Lord today, slow down and observe the scene you are reading about.  Let yourself be in the scene, observe the people.  This will help the Scripture come alive to you.  Read the passage over and over.  Why not write down on an index card the verse that caught your eye or spoke to you specifically.  Carry this verse with you every where and read it over and over and allow God to speak to you.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

