Posted by: hugapoohlouise | June 21, 2012

Melissa’s Gleanings…

Where has the time gone?  It seems to me like it has been ages since we gleaned from God’s Word here on Melissa’s Musings.  Have you missed me?

This summer I’ve committed myself to quite a few studies.  But, I felt like a bear in hibernation.  I was starved for the Word of God and I needed accountability and I needed encouragement.  Living in such a rural area, it is hard to find Bible Studies you can physically attend without driving 100 miles.  So I’ve turned to the internet to find some Bible Studies.  I prayed and prayed and God has been so faithful that my cup is overflowing.

I use to attend my churches Tuesday morning ladies Bible study faithful every week.  Then I started work which was supposed to be part-time and temporary.  Then I went to full-time and then I returned to part-time.  I feel like such a yo-yo.  Tuesday mornings don’t fit in the schedule anymore and I miss my sisters in Christ so much, but thank God I can see them at church.  They are such prayer warriors.

This summer I mentioned in an early post about the Focused15 Bible Studies.  I started with Run to Him Exploring the Psalms.  I have never been one to get all excited about the book of Psalms.  I know that sounds horrible, but I am trying to be honest here.  I’ve heard people talk about reading a Psalm or a Proverb a day and I cringe.  Not me, I’ve read it on my journey through the Bible three times, but it not something I’ve spent time in before.  Until now.  I am so glad that Run to Him Exploring the Psalms was on Psalms.  I gleaned so much throughout the study, I am still working on it, I did the meat of the study or the recommended part now I am going back through the extra credit.  I have been so blessed.  This method of Study that is also mentioned in “Savoring Living Water – How to Have an Effective Quiet Time” Book review, see earlier post, has helped me dig deeper than just the surface.  I needed that.  All my life I’ve listened to preachers, Sunday school teachers and Bible study leaders share what they’ve learned from their study.  I would go home and search the Scriptures to make sure what they were preaching, teaching was in the Word of God and then I accepted it.   This was not the best way, I was allowing them to spoon feed me.

Since I started this study, I’ve learned how to feed myself the Word of God, I’ve discovered tools that help me break down the Scripture in order to build me up personally.  My joy has been overflowing.  I can’t begin to tell you all that I’ve discovered or dug up.

Secondly, I decided to do the next study along with the Hello Morning Challenge which is on 1 Corinthans 13.  The love chapter.  Now if I may be totally honest, I lack in this area.  I keep score, I am jealous, I am not patient, I am rude and self-serving, so leading me to this chapter of God’s Word was solely the Holy Spirit.  I was chastised but for a moment and then I was led into the truth and the truth has set me free.  This study is actually two parts:  Focused15 part and then Love Like Him Learn to Love Like Jesus.  My toes hurt after studying these two studies.  But thank God I serve a merciful God.  I crawled to Him and He has washed me and set me on the path that He wants me to walk in, one that is paved by the love of Christ.

So is your head spinning yet?  Normally mine would be, but since the Lord led me to these studies He has provided the time and filled me with the desire to study.  I’ve been getting up at 5:00 or 5:30 am each morning just to spend time with the Lord.  In fact, I can’t wait to get to bed each night because I know the sooner I am asleep the sooner I can awake and me my Lord.  He is sitting in my office on my favorite lavender lounge chair waiting for me.

I also decided to lead a study on the book “Knowing God By Name” by Mary A Kassian through Women’s Bible Study Cafe.  This was my first study with them and as leader.  I have so enjoyed this study each morning meeting with each of the 9 ladies to share what we’ve learned and what stood out to us about the names of God.  To pray for one another and just to be there.

I just started a study on 1 Peter with Allume Blog which is another study led by the creator of Focused15.

So as you can see I’ve been very busy.  I know there are some out there who would say too busy.  I’ve overloaded myself.  BUT… I have to stay busy or I get bored.  And studying from different areas allows me to soak up as much as I can, I feel like I’ve crossed a desert.  I am parched and the only thing that will satisfy is the living Word of God.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

