Posted by: hugapoohlouise | August 22, 2012

Momumental by Jennifer Grant Book Review

Twelve years ago when my first bundle of joy was handed to me, I felt the first sign of panic.  How was I suppose to take care of this little child.  Did it come with instructions?  Who would I turn to for guidance?  What if I made a mistake?  Have you ever felt like that?

Jennifer Grant has.  That is why she published “Momumental”  Jennifer Grant had a childhood dream like every little girl, to be the perfect mother.  Her dream like most mothers quickly faded once she actually became a mom.  Jennifer shares her story in “Momumental”.

“Momumental” by Jennifer Grant is published by Worthy Publishing.

Handlebar Marketing graciously sent me a copy of“Momumental” by Jennifer Grant to review free of charge.  In exchange for an honest opinion book review.  I received no compensation for this review except a complementary copy of the book.

I don’t know what I was hoping for when I choose to read this book.  Maybe, I wanted the answers to all my questions or a quick-fix solutions.  I was quickly disappointed.  The book is very well written.  I was disappointed because the book was more of a collection of short stories and fairy tale endings.  Each situation that the author shares from her own life always turns out okay.  I know what she was trying to do, to show us that mistakes happen in life and that we are not to take them too seriously, but each story leaves you with a false feeling.  Not everyone’s life has a fairy tale ending.  Not each mother learns from her mistakes and some children are hurt by our parenting skills.

The book lost me in chapter three.  When I realized that my role as a mother and the author’s role as a mother were two different roles, I began to become critical of the read.  So I stopped after five chapters.  I imagine it is hard to write a parenting book.  Each and every person is different and so are our parenting skills.  I detest writing a review that is negative, but in this case I have to in order to be honest.

I would recommend this book if you are looking for some light-hearted entertainment.  But, if you are looking for a godly model of motherhood or an instruction manual than I have to recommend passing on this one.

Until Next Time,

M

Responses

  1. Thanks for the honest review!!! I know I have read books before myself that everyone said changed their lives, then after reading them they just didn’t speak to my heart. I really have enjoyed reading your blog today!

    • You are so welcome. And thank you for commenting.


Leave a Reply

Categories

