Posted by: hugapoohlouise | September 15, 2012

I am home, home sweet home….

I am home!  I know my last post was very to the point, but when tragedy strikes you are pulled in many directions.  I missed each of my blog readers/subscribers.  I am so glad to finally be back in Florida.  I missed my husband and daughters so much.  Even more I missed being with friends and family who love the Lord as much as me.

It was so hard to go to my niece’s funeral.  She was only 25 years old, her whole life ahead of her.  A life that My Heavenly Father gave her, but unfortunately, she did not know Him personally.  It boggles my mind that an intelligent adult living in America today missed the opportunity to have the peace that passes all understanding surround her each step she took.  I blame myself.  After all, I am her aunt.  I remember when she was little and I just got my driver’s license I use to take her and her brother to vacation bible school in the town we lived in.  I remember them clearly sharing that Jesus was the only way.  I remember the gap between Christ and us and how the cross bridges that gap.  I remember that vividly as if it were yesterday.  My hope is that she remembered it too.

I think every family has its share of stories, I know mine has tons.  What really grieved me at this funeral was to hear all those brothers, sisters, nieces, nephews and cousins tell me they don’t believe in God.  I guess my mouth  must have fell open and my eyes bugged out of my head as if saying “WHAT?  How can you not believe there is a God.  But it is very hard to have a theological discussion with someone sitting on a bar stool at the wake of your niece.  Yes, the wake was held in the town bar.  As I answered each person who questioned and attacked my faith, I prayed that the Holy Spirit would give me the words to say.  I am so thankful for all the prayers that each of you prayed for me, I actually felt them.  I felt the presence of God all around me all the way to Michigan and home.  Even my brother, another person who does not believe in God, made the comment that my prayers must have worked.

We encountered hardly any traffic and arrived in record time.  When we were in Georgia my brother said he has never seen I-75 so empty.  I simply replied, I prayed before we left and am still praying that we will have minimal traffic and safe travels.  He said it must be working.  It did all 1,300 miles there and back.  The hand of God was on each of us.

I am home and I am finally getting caught up in my life and in my rest.  I missed each of you so much.    Please continue to pray for my brother, nephew and my niece’s boyfriend.  Pray that they will discover Jesus through this tragedy.  That they will come to know Jesus personally.  That their grieving period will be normal and that God would fill the whole left in their life with His Son.  Amen.

Until Next Time,

M

Responses

  1. Glad you could feel the power of prayer!! Continuing to pray!

  2. thanks for the update……you and your family have been in my prayers…..suicide is a mind game…….and everybody loses…..I will continue to lift you and yours up……Love, Phyllis


Leave a Reply

Categories

