Posted by: hugapoohlouise | September 19, 2012

Choose Joy When Happiness Isn’t Enough by Kay Warren

On Monday, September 17, 2012, our Yahoo Group kicked off a book study on Choose Joy Because Happiness Isn’t Enough by Kay Warren.

We’d love for you to join us.  We are approaching this study in a very unconventional manner.  In this study, each participant will lead a chapter.  I am so excited to try this for the first time.  Not only will be studying what the author and God have to share about joy, but we will be doing it from several different perspectives.

I don’t know about you but happiness just hasn’t cut it in my life lately.  I think it all started in 2006, when I lost my mother.  I began a downward spiral.  I sought happiness and joy in many different places.  Shopping, living through my children, pleasing others, etc.  Only to discover that it could not be found.  I became discouraged and when I become discouraged the first thing I do is cry out to the Lord.  I asked Him to help me find where I got off track and how to get back on track.

I live in a rural area and there are not many Bible studies or book studies available.  The ones that I can find just don’t fit into the schedule of my life, my husband’s life, my children’s life or the care of my dad.  So I am pretty much left alone.  I shared awhile back that I found a site that hosts online Bible studies and that worked for a while, until I was viciously attacked by the owner of the site.  So I was back to square one.  I decided to start a Yahoo Group where I could gather together with like-minded, Christ dwelling believers.  Guess what?  It worked.  Our first study was alongside Beth Moore’s Siesta Sisters Summer group in Kelly Minter’s book Nehemiah.  It was so awesome and I met so many wonderful people who have sustained me each day with their kind words and prayers.

It’s not too late if you would like to join us.  I for one would be honored if you choose to come along for the journey and who couldn’t use Joy?

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

