Posted by: hugapoohlouise | September 20, 2012

The Judge – Randy Singer Book Review

I have been given a second opportunity to review author, Randy Singer!  I first became acquainted with Randy when I reviewed his book “Last Plea Bargain”, please see my post.  After reading “Last Plea Bargain”, I became a new Randy Singer fan.  I grew up reading John Grisham and Patricia Cornwell.  Once I became personally acquainted with Christ, I became convicted of my reading material.

Now remember this is a personal conviction.  I am an avid reader.  My goodreads account will testify to that.  I like to devour a book or two a week.  Once I began my walk with Christ, I realized that my reading was taking me away from the good things found within God’s Word.  So, the Lord convicted me that I should not read any other reading material until I had read from His Word.  So each day I began the practice of reading God’s Word when I first get up in the morning.   Whatever I read in God’s Word dictates for me personally how much time I spend in other reading.  If I read a chapter in the Bible then I only allow myself a chapter in other reading material and so on and so forth.  Now once again this is a personal conviction.  This has been working for me for 9 years.

From the back of the book – A Judge on trial.  His life on the line.  When a brilliant billionaire is diagnosed with inoperable brain cancer, he realizes all his considerable wealth cannot prepare him to meet his Maker.  But he has an idea that might: he will stage the ultimate reality show.  With his true agenda hidden, he auditions advocates from the world’s major religions, inviting them to the trial of their lives on a remote island where they will defend their beliefs against all challenges….

Oliver Finney, a feisty old judge is the main character of the book and he has his own secrets, and whom is chosen to defend Christianity.  Randy Singer’s books are thought-provoking, suspenseful, intriguing read with characters I instantly liked such as Nikki, Wellington and Oliver Finney.

Without giving too much away I want to ask you to what length’s you would go to in order to defend your faith?  Faith in God, or faith in ?  To find out the answer pick-up your copy of The Judge by Randy Singer.

Until Next Time,

M

Responses

  1. I read an older post on the book choose joy because i was thinking of getting that book. What is the name of the grooup that is studing it. T

    • Hey, Theresa:
      I am leading a study on Yahoo for Choose Joy by Kay Warren. Look on yahoo groups for SiestaSummerSisters group or drop me an email and I’ll send you a direct link. Marie from VW will be joining us too.
      M

  2. I could not find the group and don’t have your email anywhere. T so send me a link please and thankyou. getting the book tonight.


Leave a Reply

Categories

