Posted by: hugapoohlouise | October 11, 2012

Unglued by Lysa TerKeurst Bible Study with Melissa Taylor Blog Hop

I shared recently that I was going to be joining Melissa Taylor’s online Bible study of Lysa TerKeurst book “Unglued” with you.  Please see the previous post here for more information.

Melissa Taylor offers each Thursday a  blog hop.  I’ve never been part of a blog hop before so I thought I’d give it a go this week and see what it brings to my readers and blog.

I am a stuffer.  According to the book “Unglued”, I am a stuffer.  I stuff my emotions and I stuff my emotions until my mind, heart, body and soul can’t take anymore and then I explode.  It is not pretty when I explode it is kind of like a volcano and projectile barfing.   I am not proud of it.  I have dealt with this since college.  I just thought that something was wrong with me.  Thank God I now know that I am not alone and that there is something to be done.  I am dancing like David right now praising God that the truth has set me free!!!!

But, at least now that I’ve begun the “Unglued” study over at  Melissa Taylor’s I know what to call it and I can recognize when, where, why, how and what happens when I stuff and explode.  In our first week of study we monitored our emotions each day for a week.  We wrote down triggers, our emotional and physical state when we experienced an unglued emotion.  This allowed me to establish a base-line for myself.  So I could see what causes me to stuff and explode each time.

I have to be completely honest, each incident that occurred of me stuffing and cramming in more and more and then exploding was not exactly the same.  Which I am happy about because this gives me different scenario’s to work with and to with the grace, mercy of God overcome them.

I have also discovered that I cram mostly because I am a perfectionist.  I have a set way that each thing in my life should happen.  This not only pertains to myself but to others I ask for help with these duties or task.  BUT what I forget to convey when I am asking for help is how I prefer the task/duty to be done.  So this leaves myself open for being let down each time.  Which causes me to cram in the let down and hurt until I explode.

So I have to say I am learning as I progress through this study.  I am identifying things that cause me to cram and stuff and then explode.  I am learning to recognize what emotions lead me to explode faster than others.

I would love to hear from you in the comments are you a stuffer?  Do you explode?  Have you ever taken an online Bible study?

Until Next Time,

M

Responses

  1. Thanks so much for sharing. Isn’t it wonderful each time we learn that God gives us a biblical solution to make our lives reflect who Jesus is. You thought you were destined to be a stuffer who gathers rocks but Jesus has shown you a way out. Thank God.
    Blessings,
    Catherine
    OBS Group Leader

  2. Isn’t it great how as we proceed through this study we become more aware of our unglued moments, what causes them, and what we need to work on?!
    What a great message today! Thank you for sharing your words and blessing others 🙂

    ~sherri

  3. I am a stuffer who builds barriers most. But I can be a bit of all 4. Hoping to maybe blog on Stuffers, after reading chapter 6, but before the next hop…because it is simply to difficult to blog two chapters in one post.

  4. Yes, stuffer and exploder. Oh Lord help us as we all seek to make imperfect progress. I’m a perfectionist too. My way or the highway…or is it I think my way is the highway? I really do think there is a right way to do everything pretty much, but this really gets me into trouble when others don’t do it that way. My thinking allows me to justify my judgmental attitude. Oh Lord help us to release our perfectionist tendencies and trust you more!

    • I am praying for both of us.


Leave a Reply

Categories

