Posted by: hugapoohlouise | November 13, 2012

Holiday Hustle & Bustle

Here at Melissa’s Musings, the holiday hustle and bustle has started.  I have media firms breathing down my neck to complete my review in timely manners, I have threatening emails from their head PR person to remind me that deadlines are not suggestions, etc.  So that is how I know the holiday season has arrived.  How about you?   Have you noticed anything different in the attitudes of people?

I also have the pleasure of working a job outside my home and get to come into contact with the public each day.  I have to tell you lately it seems 9 out of 10 people who I come into contact with are in a bad mood or have a chip on their shoulder about something.  Now this usually makes for a hard day until I tried a little experiment.  My kids love them so I thought why not.  So each day I awoke to participate in my Hello Morning Group, I prayed that God would fill me with the love of Christ.  That this love would overwhelm me and overflow into those I came into contact especially, Lord, the grumpy ones.  So as I arrived each day and difficult people, drivers or callers arrived in my life, when I was talking with them or following them at least 20 miles less than the posted speed limit, I imagined them as Jesus.  I didn’t see the little blue haired lady driving under the speed limit, I say my Lord and Savior.  After all He says He will never leave us nor forsake us, right?

So to me that means that no matter where I go Jesus is with me.  So why not picture those difficult people in your life as the exact image of Jesus.  After all, we were created in the image of God and God said if you’ve seen Jesus you’ve seen me.  A little paraphrasing here (I’ve decided not to post the verses, i want you to find them for yourself).  So each day I came into contact with Jesus’ image and this helped me to see these people in a different light.  I no longer so them as someone sent to sabotage my day.  I saw them as God’s very own child.  I saw their need and the deception in their life put there by the enemy of our souls, satan.  My compassion flowed a lot more freely than normal I have to confess.

So this holiday season as your life gets busier and busier I want to challenge you to not lose sight of the reason for the season and to allow God to change your perception.  To let the love of Christ flow through you, don’t be a Scrooge when it comes to the love of Christ.

I would love to read your comments, thoughts and prayers, so drop me a line.

Until Next Time,

M

Responses

  1. My phone at the office when I worked use to have a not to myself “Act don’t React”……the heart on the basket by my phone in the kitchen says….”Let the words of my mouth…Ps 19:14…..both have served me well over the years…..being a generally happy person, I am always amazed at how amazed people are at happy people…..it is really amusing to hear the comments of total strangers…..my favorite last year during the holiday season was from a lady who crashed her cart into mine in Walmart……she mumbled the usual void of expression, “excuse me”…when I told her “no problem we are all in this together,” after she gave me that look of who are you an alien?, we stood right there in the aisle and laughed right out loud….it was a great moment……let me know some of the responses you get Melissa, some may just make your Christmas…..Love to you and yours and blessings during this wonderful time we celebrate our Savior, family and friends and all those we are in it together with…..Phyllis


Leave a Reply

Categories

