Posted by: hugapoohlouise | February 14, 2013

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day from Melissa’s Musings!  I know that Valentine’s Day is not a religious holiday, but it is one of my favorites.  Why?

Because my oldest daughter was born the day after Valentine’s Day and this day of love holds a special place in my heart.  This is the day that the Lord has taught me the true meaning of unconditional love.  Prior to my daughter’s birth, I was familiar with love.  I thought I’d found it a few times.  But, I was wrong.  I had bought into the world’s definition of love.

When my daughter was born, the day after Valentine’s Day, I came to realize what unconditional love was.  And to be completely honest it scared the living day lights out of me as we say here in the South.  But it was this fear that lead me to seek out the Lord and ask Him to show me the true meaning of love.  Not long after my daughter was born I came into contact with Jesus Christ, who is now my Lord and Savior.  I asked Him into my heart and I asked Him to show me His definition of love.  Hint:  1 Corinthians 13 is the best definition in the Bible.

Once I opened my heart, mind and soul to my Savior, I began to realize that I had not loved at all.  The love I thought I knew was a selfish, self-serving love that fit the world’s mold, not God’s.  But thank goodness He didn’t leave me where I was He showed me the true path to love and what love is…. Himself.  God loved me so much that He gave His only begotten Son, Jesus Christ to die for me while I was still a sinner.  He loved me so much He led me to Himself after the birth of my daughter.  He loved me so much He gave me the most understanding and awesome husband in the world who taught me how to love, fully and without strings.  He loved me so much He gave me two more children.  He loved me so much He gave me the gospel and the privilege of sharing this gospel with all I come into contact with.  He loved me so much, that I can love others more than I love myself.

So as you can see from above why Valentine’s Day is one of my favorite holidays.  It is not the candy hearts and the cards, it is the love of Christ shed abroad in my heart.

Have a blessed Valentine’s Day and go tell someone you love just how much you love them and hold them a little closer for a little longer than normal.

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

