Posted by: hugapoohlouise | April 1, 2013

Book Review: The Explicit Gospel by Matt Chandler with Jared Wilson – Get your free copy!

Crossway graciously sent me two copies of “The Explicit Gospel” by Matt Chandler with Jared Wilson to review and giveaway!!  I received no compensation for this review other than two complementary copies of the above referenced book to read and write a review based on my personal opinion.

sm-a1.yimg.comThis was my first time reading any thing by Matt Chandler.  You may ask who is Matt Chandler?  Matt Chandler serves as lead pastor of  The Village Church in Highland Village, Texas.  Besides his role as lead pastor he is also known as a church planter.

When I first began reading “The Explicit Gospel” I thought I had bit off more than I could chew.  This book can seem very theologically deep in places and there was a few things that I had to research further in order to fully understand the concepts that were shared on the pages.  This is not a bad thing.  I learned a lot along the way and I am thankful that there are authors out there that cause their readers to pay attention and do their own research instead of spoon-feeding us.

Matt and Jared have a wit about them that leaps off the page and really makes you want to read on.  For instance:

“The universe isn’t Burger King; we don’t get to have everything made our way.  See Matthew 25:41-46”

Another example of the author’s way of causing the readers to take action is the following quote:

“Jesus has bridged the chasm between man and God with his own flesh and blood.  What will we do with this?

What exactly will we as followers of Christ do with this?  Think on that as you read the rest of the review.

I loved the way the authors wrote and I loved that I wanted to know more which caused me to investigate the things that were being shared with me.  My favorite part is as you read this book you want to get up and go do something for the glory of God.  This is not a comfortable Christian book that you read and you feel all warm and fuzzy inside.  Oh no, this is a book that causes you to take a good long look at how you view the gospel and what you are doing about it.

I recommend this book if you are serious about following Jesus.  I would love to give each of my readers a copy of this book.  But, I don’t have enough copies to do that so instead I’ll give one copy away here on my blog.

To enter the contest for one copy of The Explicit Gospel by Matt Chandler with Jared Wilson follow these instructions:

  • One entry for leaving a comment on my blog telling me why you’d like to win a copy of the book.
  • One entry for Tweeting about this giveaway on Twitter, please leave me a comment with the Twitter link to your Tweet.
  • One entry for sharing on your Facebook account.  Please leave a comment with your Facebook address and comment link.
  • One entry for sharing this contest or review on your blog.  Please leave a comment with your blog address and post link.

The contest ends on April 15, 2013 at Midnight. I wish each of you good luck with the contest.  This is a must read book.

Disclaimer:  The above is a personal review of “The Explicit Gospel” book by Matt Chandler with Jared Wilson.  The reviews represented here are my own personal opinion after reading the book.  I received no compensation nor was I asked to write a favorable review.  

Until Next Time,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

