Posted by: hugapoohlouise | April 24, 2013

Book Review: Ephesians Discovering Your Identity and Purpose in Christ by Sue Edwards

I know what your thinking, or at least I think I do when you read my blog post title.  Another Bible Study, my schedule is already overflowing and I just don’t have time to study God’s Word.  I know I too thought this…  But then someone wrote that we make time for the things that matter.  I make time to get my haircut.  I make time to watch my favorite movie or to visit my friends.  So I learned to make time to study the Bible.  I won’t lie to you it will require some sacrifices of the flesh in order to find the time or make the time a priority each day, but it does get easier and now I can’t wait for that alarm to go off at dark thirty in the morning.

9780825443091The author:  Sue Edwards has written seven books in the A Discover Together Bible Study.  She has also authored other books and is an associate professor of Christian education (she specializes in women’s studies at Dallas Theological Seminary.  This is my first time reading and studying along side Sue.

One thing that women today struggle with in studying God’s Word is time.  We are a busy generation.  Without God’s Word we lose our focus, our lives become unbalanced and we lose sight of Christ in our busy day-to-day lives.

The greatest thing about Ephesians Discovering Your Identity and Purpose in Christ is it allows you to choose which depth of study will fit your lifestyle or in my case my schedule.  I love this.  You can vary the depth of study day-to-day, week to week depending on your time allotment.  So one day I could complete just the basic questions which the author estimates will take you about 1.5 hours.  In my opinion this maybe a little on the long side.  I was able to complete just the basic questions in one morning about 20 minutes.  I walked away from Ephesians with an overview of the text and a background lesson that was extremely helpful.

The next section is called “Digging Deeper” and it contains questions for those who want to and make time to probe the text studied in a deeper manner.  Outside resources maybe needed to answer some of these questions.  In this study you are challenged to learn more of the history, culture and geography related to your study topic.

Sue Edwards Ephesians is an inductive Bible study and it is designed for the individual as well as group discovery.  Sue offers Bible study leaders free, downloadable leader’s guides for each of her studies, along with general tips for leading a group at http://www.discovertogetherseries.com

SEdwards-114Included in Ephesians are short video clips that can be accessed with the QR scanner app for your smart phone.  This is a definite plus for those who study on the go.  You can watch these videos at your convenience even when you are on the go.  No QR code scanner/smart phone.  Don’t worry you can visit http://www.discovertogetherseries.com and easily watch these video’s at your convenience.  These videos according to Sue are meant to bless, encourage, and challenge your daily walk.

Sue Edwards is hosting an online Bible Study from April 15, 2013 through May 7, 2013 on her Facebook page.

EphesiansBibleStudybutton1My only on of the review is the online study on Facebook.  I do not Facebook nor will I.  So I am unable to participate in the study which is disheartening to say the least.  I wish there was another way that people who live in a rural area and lack in the fellowship and study of God’s Word could get together with A Discover Together Bible study.

Otherwise, I loved this Bible study and I will continue to work my way through this study.  I did the basic questions in preparation for this review and now I want to go back and do the digging deeper questions.  I also would love to do more of her studies especially on the book of Revelations.

I recommend this book to beginners and seasoned Bible studiers as it has something for everyone.  Won’t you join me in the journey through Ephesians?

DISCLOSURE OF MATERIAL PROVIDED:  I received a copy of this book from the  Litfuse Publicity Group for review purposes.  I was not compensated for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review.  The opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.  So please enjoy.

Until Next Time,

M

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

