Posted by: hugapoohlouise | June 13, 2013

Are You Seeing the Lord?

Will you join me today as we look at Isaiah 6:1-6.  You can use any translation you prefer, I will be using the ESV.

1In the year that King Uzziah died I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up; and the traina of his robe filled the temple. 2Above him stood the seraphim. Each had six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew. 3And one called to another and said:

“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts;
the whole earth is full of his glory!”b

4And the foundations of the thresholds shook at the voice of him who called, and the house was filled with smoke. 5And I said: “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts!”

6Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand a burning coal that he had taken with tongs from the altar. 7And he touched my mouth and said: “Behold, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away, and your sin atoned for.”

The phrase that I am looking at this morning is “I saw the Lord” in verse one of chapter 6 of Isaiah.  What does your Bible say?

The word “saw”  is 7200 in the Strong’s Hebrew.  It is spelled “raah” and means to see.  It is a verb.  In other translations of the Bible the word appear is used.

Am I seeing the Lord?  Does He appear before me?  How does He appear to me?  As I ask myself these questions this morning I do hope you will join me.

According to Isaiah above, we see the Lord High and Lifted Up.  Do you have the Lord high and lifted up in your own life?  Does the train of His robe fill your temple?  The Lord is larger than our temple and He is all-consuming.

If we don’t have the right perception or our perception is not based on truth, then we are perceiving the thing we are looking at wrongly or falsely.  The same is true about God, His Word.  We must make sure that we are allowing the Bible to speak to us and not the world.  The world says we can not see God, nor will we ever, eat, drink and be merry.  But Isaiah one of the prophets to my Heavenly Father said He saw God, High and Lifted up.  So if Isaiah could see God, what is stopping me?  And when we see God, how are we really seeing Him?  Do we see Him as High and Lifted up above everything else?  Or have we brought God down to our level and compromised the truth?  Does God’s glory or train of His robe fill the temple?  Or is our temple, which is our body bigger than God?  If our temple is bigger than we are on the wrong path and we need to turn around.

Will you join me as I study the Word this Summer, please share your comments, thoughts and study finds on my blog with me.

Let us end in prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for this time I was able to spend in Your Word, the Truth.  Lord illuminate the Scriptures that You’ve laid on my heart to share on this blog with my fellow Christians and even non-Christians in a way that brings You the glory and the honor.  Lord thank You for leaving us Your Word which is truth and for Your Holy Spirit that is our teacher as we walk the paths You’ve created for Us.  Help us Lord today, to see You in the correct way and to share this with others.  Lord, let our temple be small in comparison to You in our life.  In Jesus Name Amen.

Until Next Time,
M

Leave a Reply

Categories

