Posted by: hugapoohlouise | September 21, 2013

Book Review: Unglued Making Wise Choices In The Midst of Raw Emotions by Lysa TerKeurst

All my life I’ve heard the saying “If Momma’s ain’t happy , nobody is happy.”  I am not even sure where this quote came from, but every time I came unglued this saying pops into my mind over and over again.

Then one day this brand new mommie met Jesus!  And I realized the power I had allowed the above statement to wield in my own life and home.  I realized that I set the atmosphere in my own home and I had sinned by setting an explosive one on many occasions.   New mommies are full of hormones and new feelings, emotions and physical changes that are sometimes scary to deal with.  Can I get an Amen?

As I cried out to my Lord and Savior and asked Him to rid myself of stinking thinking and to replace these thoughts with truths and I asked Him to forgive me for allowing my attitude the power to rule my home.  I shared with Him that I was scared and I needed guidance and that I wanted my home to be a sanctuary a place of rest for the weary and a place to be encouraged.  I prayed this prayer for many, many years as I sought Him to help me with these raw emotions that would surface in my life over some of the most trivial things sometimes.

Then one day as I reading Lysa TerKeurst’s blog, she shared this picture along with another one and asked her readers to choice their favorite cover for her new book that was coming out.  Guess what the title of that book was?  “Unglued Making WIse Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions”

Unglued159I was so excited and knew deep down within my spirit that I had to read this book.  You see I was struggling, I would have good days, good weeks, heck even good months and then I would blow it.  I would explode and pieces would be everywhere.   Then our enemy (who is so good at his job), the devil would whisper into my ear that I was a failure.  A failure as a child of God, a failure as a mother, a failure.  When Zondervan gave me the opportunity to review this book I was skeptical at first.  I mean, I knew I needed to read this book for my personal life, but did I really want to write about the experience? Then the Lord showed me that my struggle would be used to touch someone else and help them, so I surrendered.

I know I’ve talked about this book many times prior to me actually writing a review.  Just so you know I was not procrastinating.  I actually worked through this book three times.  Once with an online study group.  Once with myself personally and once with an accountability partner.  I wanted to make sure I got the stuff that God wanted me to see down deep in my marrow.   So I apologize for the delay in this review, but it was definitely worth it.

I think the most important thing that I found in this book is that I was not alone and the feelings and emotions that I was feeling were not unique, other people felt them and struggled just like I do.  I realized that I could relate to what Lysa TerKeurst.  That she, like Jesus had walked through some of the dark valley’s just as I had and she came out on the other side!  She returned hope to my life in this area that I was feeling defeated in.

The second thing that really helped me was that she shares different four different ways that people become unglued.  They are:

  • Exploders who shame themselves are those who throw “saving face” to the wind and let whatever they’re feeling at the moment fly out their mouths in a fury of harsh words.
  • Exploders who blame others attribute their extreme reactions to circumstances caused by others.
  • Stuffers who build barriers avoid conflict by keeping their hurt feelings to themselves and cutting off the hurtful relationship instead of addressing the issue with the other party.
  • Finally, stuffers who collect retaliation rocks take “stuffing” one step further, allowing bitterness to fester and creating a mental list of wrongdoings to throw in the other person’s face during their next heated argument.

She also shared that at one given unglued moment you my be exploding and shaming yourself and then the next time you could be a stuffer who builds walls.  See I believed the enemies words that what I was feeling, and doing when I was coming unglued disqualified me being a child of God.  So then I condemned myself even more, thus making matters worse.

I was very touched by the words in this book by Lysa TerKeurst and I can tell you with open heart and arms that God has used it in mighty ways in this old mommies life.  He has taken something that I was bound up in since I became that new mommie 12 years ago and used it to for His good and the good of those around us.  I am going to leave you today with a few quotes from the book.

“Exploding feels good for the short-term, but awful in the long-term”

“Conviction unlocks the greatest potential for change”

“We collect things to use in the future as weapons”

“No one listens until I explode and then everyone listens.”

Until Next Time,

M

DISCLOSURE OF MATERIAL PROVIDED:  I received a copy of this book from the Zondervan for review purposes.  I was not compensated for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review.  The opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.  So please enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

