Posted by: hugapoohlouise | October 26, 2013

Lord Show Me My Dreams … In Light of Eternity.

I am totally exhausted and spent.  A whole week of praying over the little list of hopes and dreams that I keep tucked away in my mind.  I keep thinking that maybe I should pray an additional week for the list of hopes and dreams that I wrote down.  See, I have two lists, one I feel comfortable with writing down and the one I keep tucked in my mind that I am not comfortable with writing down.  Do you have two lists of hopes and dreams?

I don’t want to know the number of times you petitioned God this week and I sure don’t want you to feel guilty or condemned for not being able to pray more than someone else.  So one rule we are establishing right now is that you will not be posting anyway in relation to this blog post the number of times you prayed about your hopes and dreams.  For instance if you leave a comment just leave it at “I prayed”.  DO NOT list the number.  I am sharing this verse and hopefully the Lord will help you understand why.

Luke 18:9 – 14

9 He also told this parable to some who trusted in themselves that they were righteous,

And treated others with contempt: 10 “Two men went up into the temple to pray,

one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. 11 The Pharisee, standing by himself, prayed

thus: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other men, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even like this tax collector.

12 I fast twice a week; I give tithes of all that I get.’ 13 But the tax collector,

standing far off, would not even lift up his eyes to heaven, but beat his breast, saying,

‘God, be merciful to me, a sinner!’ 14 I tell you, this man went down to his house justified,

rather than the other. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled,

but the one who humbles himself will be exalted.”

I want to let you know that no matter how many times you prayed or where you prayed, the Lord heard you the first time you made your request known.  He heard, He listened.  I don’t know about you, but to me this offers me great comfort to know that I have a Heavenly Father who hears, listens and cares about me.

This exercise was to help show you what God showed me.  As I took my hopes and dreams to Him, my eyes were opened to the cold, hard reality that my hopes and dreams did not take into account God’s plan and will for my life.  In fact if I can be brutally honest here, God was not found in my dreams at all.  He was found in the hope I have for my children and my family, but as far as my dreams NO.   My hopes and dreams were just that mine and they were so very selfish in nature.  My hopes and dreams had been established in my heart, mind and on a piece of paper a long time ago.  God showed me that the hopes and dreams that were causing me to feel defeated, discouraged, fearful and angry were dreams that came about over 30 years ago.  They were the unsaved dreams of a little blonde haired, blue-eyed little girl.  A young girl who did not know Jesus, a teenager who did not know Jesus, a young adult who thought she was walking independently, but was still serving the father of sin.

How could this be possible?  I had carried these hopes and dreams from the time I was 5 years old and day dreaming of how my grown-up life would be.  I had allowed these hopes and dreams control over my mind, my heart and my life.  These hopes and dreams who had never met Jesus.  For 30 years I lived my life without Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior.  I did not know who Jesus was, I thought Jesus, Church and God were something you did on Sunday.  At the time these hopes and dreams came to life, I was lost and dying.  I had no true hope.  But, I was deceived, I had no idea that I did not have true hope.  I had no idea that I had gained the whole world, but lost my very soul.

What are your hopes and dreams?  Can you date them?  Do they come from your childhood, teenage years, young adult years or later in life?  Are they what I like to call pre-salvation hopes and dreams?

I don’t want to leave us here this week.  I want you to continue to pray over your hopes and dreams and allow God to show you the truth like He did me.  He will reveal to you just as He did me any misconceptions,  deceptions.  Write down in a journal what the Lord shows you.  Are your hopes and dreams selfish?  Were they formed in your life before you met Jesus?  Share what you feel comfortable sharing on the blog with each other.  Let’s lift each other up as we dig a little deeper inside what makes our hopes and dreams tick.

I’ll end on a positive note.  14 years ago, God’s plan came to being in my own life.  I met the husband that the Lord had hand-picked for me.  A man who knew Jesus.  God is the Potter and little did I know I was the clay.

Until Next Time, when the story continues,

M

Leave a Reply

Categories

